Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: 1000TVL Micro FPV Camera

Mike vom Mars Blog 1000tvl ccd fpv cam fpv camera fpv racer kingkong 90gt lightweight micro racing mini racer rodeo 110 ultra small walkera rodeo 110
 
Estimated reading time: 4 minutes  Viewed 4.542 times


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.


There isn’t plenty of space available on micro / mini drones and most pre-installed FPV cams are quite crappy, so we tested the ultra-small, lightweight 1000TVL FPV cam from Banggood, one of the smallest and lightest FPV cameras available. Is it a good replacement camera? How does it perform?

1000TVL Micro FPV Camera

1000tvl fpv cam test review ccd fpv mini micro drone mini racing micro racing drone fpv cam mike vom mars blog

1000TVL Micro FPV

 

Features
Ultra light-weight: 1.2g
Ultra small: 8mm x 8mm
170 degree FOV
Resolution: 1280 x 960
Power consumption: 80mA @ 5V
Current: 3.3V – 5V
Useful Links
1000TVL micro FPV camera
Eachine EV800 FPV video goggle
KingKong 90GT at Banggood
Walkera Rodeo 110 at Banggood

Mini and micro racers are quite trendy – last but not least due to the restrited drone laws in many countries. Unfortunately, many manufacturers tend to pre-install inferior FPV cams on their mini drones. Best example: the Rodeo 110 from Walkera (Review), which is incredibly much fun and in almost every way earns a top rating, but since it comes with a crappy FPV camera, we were looking for a good alternative.

With only 1.2 gram of weight and sized just 8mm x 8mm, the 1000TVL is so small that it fits on a fingertip. The camera actually consists of a 2.8mm lensand a small circuit board, where’s a tiny microphone attached to (which we unfortunately could not test, because our FPV equipment does not transmit any audio). The camera is equipped with four 10cm long wires: black for ground, red for the input voltage (3.3V – 5V), yellow for the video signal to the video transmitter and white for audio. If the latter one is not needed, you can also disconnect the white cable, as well as the microphone.

Caution: Due to the incredibly small size of the camera, the soldering points of the cables are quite fragile. Once pulled too hard on the cable and the thing is off. So be careful.

Ideally, the 1000TVL fits perfectly into the camera holder of the Rodeo 110, so replacing the camera takes only minutes and does not require a major conversion. Only the cable connector (4-pin Micro JST) differs from the original camera of the Rodeo (3-pin). Here we simply cut the cables of both cameras and soldered to each other so that the connections fit.

The first outdoor test was a surprise: the tiny 1000TVL not only offers a much sharper picture than the rodeo camera and much brighter, saturated colors, but also performs way better with light / dark changes. The original camera of the Rodeo (and this unfortunately applies to the majority of cheap FPV cameras), does not perform well when you point them towards the bright sky. Any darker area (the ground) quickly gets too dark then.

The 1000TVL performs very well here with bright and dark areas mixed together – and it even does on cloudy days. Of course you can not expect miracles at the price of a little more than 10 EUR and regarding the incredibly small size, but compared to the rodeo camera the 1000TVL really cuts off superbly. Also the camera of the KingKong 90GT (Review) falls back against the 1000TVL, which makes the 1000TVL a perfect replacement camera for the Kong also.

The 1000TVL features a viewing angle of 170 degrees, wich is very pleasant when flying a racing quad. You don’t want to try a landing maneuver while you are captured in a tunnel view. Power consumption is quite low with only 80mAh at 5V and we could not detect any shorter flight times.

Conclusion

The 1000TVL is a small miracle – at least in comparison with most other micro FPV cameras and especially if you consider the price for just a little mor than 10 EUR. Meanwhile, we have the 1000TVL installed on almost every one of our mini and micro quads and are absolutely satisfied. The camera is so incredibly small and light that it really fits on every vehicle or quad. It delivers a top picture with rich colors, nice sharpness and good light / dark handling.

Videos

Comparison: Rodeo Cam / 1000TVL:

1000 TVL on the Rodeo 110:

1000tvl fpv cam test review ccd fpv mini micro drone mini racing micro racing drone fpv cam mike vom mars blog

1000TVL Micro FPV

 

Nützliche Links
1000TVL micro FPV camera
Eachine EV800 FPV video goggles
KingKong 90GT at Banggood
Walkera Rodeo 110 at Banggood

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Technik & Reviews

Review: 1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera

Mike vom Mars Blog 1000tvl ccd fpv cam fpv camera fpv racer kingkong 90gt lightweight micro racing mini racer rodeo 110 ultra small walkera rodeo 110
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 4 Minuten  588 mal gelesen

Auf Micro- und Mini-Drohnen ist der Platz knapp und die vom Hersteller verbauten FPV Kameras meist grotteschlecht. Wir haben uns die 1000TVL von Banggood angesehen, eine der kleinsten und leichtesten FPV Kameras, die es gibt. Was taugt sie?

 

1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera

1000tvl fpv cam test review ccd fpv mini micro drone mini racing micro racing drone fpv cam mike vom mars blog

1000TVL Micro FPV

 

Features auf einen Blick
Ultra-leicht: 1.2g
Ultra-klein: 8mm x 8mm
170 Grad Blickwinkel
Auflösung: 1280 x 960
Stromverbrauch: 80mA @ 5V
Eingangsspannung: 3.3V – 5V
Lichtempfindlichkeit: 0.008 Lux
Nützliche Links
1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera
Eachine EV800 FPV Videobrille
KingKong 90GT bei Banggood
Walkera Rodeo 110 bei Banggood

Der Trend geht momentan nicht nur zu Mini- und Micro-Racern, sondern bei den Herstellern leider auch zu immer schlechteren, bereits verbauten FPV Kameras. Bestes Beispiel hierfür: der Rodeo 110 von Walkera (Review), der zwar unglaublich viel Spass macht und in fast jeder Hinsicht Topwertungen abräumt, aber unverständlicherweise mit einer FPV Kamera daherkommt, die diesen Namen kaum verdient. Wieso wird bei FPV Racern vom Hersteller nur am falschen Ende gespart?

Weil wir mit der Bildqualität der original Rodeo Cam nicht zufrieden waren, aber auch eine Ersatzkamera für den unglaublich agilen KingKong 90GT Micro-Racer (Review) suchten, haben wir uns die 1000TVL von Banggood einmal angesehen – und sind mehr als überrascht, was dieses kleine Wunderding alles, trotz seiner kleinen Grösse und dem geringen Gewicht, kann.

Mit nur 1.2 Gramm Gewicht und gerade mal 8mm x 8mm Grösse ist die 1000TVL so klein, das sie auf eine Fingerspitze passt. Die Kamera besteht eigentlich nur aus einer 2.8mm Linse, sowie einer kleinen Platine, an der auch ein winziges Mikrofon angebracht ist (das wir leider nicht testen konnten, da unser FPV Equipment eh kein Audio überträgt). An der Kamera sind vier ca. 10cm lange Kabel angebracht: schwarz für Masse, rot für die Eingangsspannung (3.3V – 5V), gelb für das Videosignal zum Videosender und weiss für Audio. Wird letzteres nicht benötigt, kann man das weisse Kabel, sowie das Mikrofon auch abklemmen.

Vorsicht: Aufgrund der unglaublich kleinen Grösse der Kamera sind die Lötpunkte der Kabel recht fragil. Einmal zu heftig am Kabel gezogen und das Ding ist ab. Also vorsichtig verbauen.

Idealerweise passt die 1000TVL perfekt in den Kamerhalter des Rodeo 110, so das ein Wechsel der Kamera nur Minuten dauert und keinen grösseren Umbau erfordert. Lediglich die Belegung des Kabelsteckers (4-Pin Micro JST) ist eine andere, als die der Originalkamera des Rodeo (3-Pin). Hier haben wir einfach die Kabel beider Kamera abgeschnitten und so miteinander verlötet, das die Anschlüsse passen.

Die Anschlüsse des Kamerasteckers der Rodeo Kamera sind wie folgt (wenn man von oben auf den Rodeo guckt und dieser mit der Kamera nach vorne zeigt): Linker Pin = Videosignal, mittlerer Pin = GND, rechter Pin = 5V

Nach dem Einbau ging es sofort ab auf die Wiese – und siehe da, die winzige 1000TVL bietet nicht nur ein deutlich schärferes Bild, als die Rodeo Kamera und viel sattere Farben, sondern kommt auch um Welten besser mit Hell- / Dunkelwechseln zurecht. Die Originalkamera des Rodeo (und das trifft leider auf den Grossteil billiger FPV Kameras zu), knickt extrem ein, sobald grosse helle und dunkle Flächen im Bild sind (z.B. Hälfte Himmel, Hälfte Wiese).

Die Kamera stellt dann entweder auf den hellen Bereich (die Wiese verschwindet dann in einer schwarzen Fläche und ist kaum noch erkennbar) oder fokussiert auf die dunklen Bereiche (der Himmel wird dann überstrahlt und zur weissen Fläche). Nur mit Mühe erkennt man dann noch, wo man denn überhaupt hin fliegt.

Nicht so die 1000TVL. Diese kommt deutlich besser mit hellen und dunklen Bereichen zurecht – sogar an bewölkten Tagen. Natürlich darf man hier bei dem Preis und der unglaublich kleinen Grösse keine Wunder erwarten, aber im Vergleich zur Rodeo Kamera schneidet die 1000TVL wirklich superb ab. Auch die Kamera des KingKong 90GT zieht gegenüber der 1000TVL den kürzeren, was die 1000TVL zu einer perfekten Ersatz-Kamera für den Kong qualifiziert.

Genial auch der schön grosse Blickwinkel von 170 Grad, den die 1000TVL mitbringt. Nichts ist schlimmer, als einen Racer mit Tunnelblick zu fliegen – vor allem beim Landen. Mit der 1000TVL ist das Blickfeld hier angenehm gross.

Der Stromverbrauch ist recht gering, eine Verkürzung der Flugzeit konnten wir nicht feststellen, was auch nicht wundert, da die Kamera bei 5V nur einen Verbrauch von ca. 80mAh hat.

Fazit

Die 1000TVL ist ein kleines Wunder – zumindest im Vergleich mit den meisten anderen Micro FPV Kameras und vor allem, wenn man ihren Preis für nur knapp über 10 EUR berücksichtigt. Mittlerweile haben wir die 1000TVL auf fast jedem unserer Mini- und Micro Quads verbaut und sind absolut zufrieden. Die Kamera ist so unglaublich klein und leicht das sie wirklich noch auf jeden Micro passt und liefert dafür ein top Bild mit satten Farben, schöner Schärfe und gutem Hell- / Dunkel-Handling.

Videos

Vergleich Rodeo Cam mit 1000TVL:

1000 TVL auf dem Rodeo 110:

1000tvl fpv cam test review ccd fpv mini micro drone mini racing micro racing drone fpv cam mike vom mars blog

1000TVL Micro FPV

 

Nützliche Links
1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera
Eachine EV800 FPV Videobrille
KingKong 90GT bei Banggood
Walkera Rodeo 110 bei Banggood

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *