Creativity

3D Printed Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog 3d drucker 3d print 3d printable abs anet a8 dji phantom 3d model janbex key fob keychain micro fpv mini fpv racer netfab pla schlüsselanhänger
 
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes  Viewed 2.490 times

A 3D printer is a very useful device that allows one to be very creative. Do you remember the time when we had to work with paper, glue and scissors? Those days are long gone!

Some like it big. I like it small and funny. And I have a penchant for original key fobs. They’re ideal to present small, compact artworks and miniatures and prevent them from becoming dust catchers in your shelf at home. As my drones and multicopters got smaller and smaller over time, it was also obvious to make a Mini FPV Racer in keychain format – including a miniature remote control with movable levers:

Video

What do you need to get one?

Actually only a 3D printer. In my case the Anet A8, which I bought as a kit and assembled myself. If you like it simpler, you can also get a pre-assembled printer. They’re easier to install, but also keep in mind that the purchase price increases three to five times.

If you already have a 3D printer at home and don’t want to model this yourself, you can download my Mini FPV Racer from Thingiverse and throw it through your own 3D printer:

Download: Mini FPV Racer

Download: Mini Remote Control

Ideally, the Mini Racer is printed in three different colours – in my case black, white and orange (I have these three filaments always in stock). The racer and the remote control can also be printed with two colours only, but monochrome would be too dull. It’s supposed to be eye-candy when you carry it on your key fob.

To make sure that the little copter doesn’t feel lonely, a small remote control had to be invented as well. One of the challenges was to make the control sticks moveable. I solved this problem with ball joints. These are designed in such a way that they come out of the printer ready-to-go.

Background Info

Warning! If you want to buy a 3D printer, ensure that there are no children in your personal environment - otherwise you will end up printing kids' toys all the time and nothing else :-) You should also make sure that you are not the only guy around with a 3D printer, otherwise you will end up printing gadgets for the entire circle of friends.

I use Cinema 4D to model my own 3D prints. The finished 3D models are then made "waterproof" and optimized with NetFab so that there are no nasty surprises while printing. I use cura for slicing. In my opinion, the best slicer by far. My experiences with Simplify 3D have sobered me up a lot and let me switch back to Cura because it has a much better mesh import engine.

I usually print with PLA. I can fully recommend the filament from Anet, the manufacturer of the best-selling 3D printers. It's available in many different colors on 1kg coils for ~15 EUR - an unbeatable price compared to other manufacturers, which only offer 800g coils with higher prices and then deliver significantly poorer quality at the same time. Unfortunately the Anet filament is often out of stock due to the high demand, so it is worth ordering a couple of units at once as soon as they are available.

Pictures

3D Printed Mini FPV Racer

3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kreatives

Drucke dir einen Mini FPV Racer!

Mike vom Mars Blog 3d drucker 3d print 3d printable abs anet a8 dji phantom 3d model janbex key fob keychain micro fpv mini fpv racer netfab pla schlüsselanhänger
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 3 Minuten

Ein 3D Drucker ist schon ein sehr nützliches Haushaltsgerät – nicht nur, um sich mal eben etwas selbst zu drucken, anstatt in Läden lange danach suchen zu müssen, sondern auch, um sich kreativ auszutoben. Erinnert ihr euch noch an die Zeit, in der wir mit Papier, Kleber und Schere basteln mussten? Diese Zeiten sind länge vorbei!

Manche mögen es groß. Ich mag es klein und drollig. Und ich habe eine Vorliebe für originelle Schlüsselanhänger. Nirgendwo lassen sich kleine, kompakte Kunstwerke so gut präsentieren, wie am Schlüsselbund – so stehen sie nicht als Staubfänger zuhause im Regal. Da auch meine Dronen und Multikopter im Laufe der Zeit immer kleiner wurden, lag es nahe, mir einen Mini FPV Racer im Schlüsselbundformat zu basteln – natürlich samt Miniatur-Fernsteuerung mit beweglichen Hebeln:

Video

Was braucht man dafür?

Eigentlich nur einen 3D Drucker. In meinem Fall der Anet A8, den ich mir als Bausatz geholt und selbst zusammengebaut habe. Wer es einfacher mag, kann sich auch einen fertig zusammengebauten Drucker holen. Dann fällt aber nicht nur der Bastelspass weg, auch der Anschaffungspreis erhöht sich mal eben um das drei- bis fünffache.

Wer bereits einen 3D Drucker zuhause hat und nicht selbst modellieren möchte, kann sich meinen Mini Racer bequem bei Thingiverse herunterladen und durch den eigenen Drucker jagen:

Download: Mini FPV Racer

Download: Mini Fernsteuerung

Idealerweise wird der Mini Flitzer in drei verschiedenen Farben gedruckt – in meinem Fall schwarz, weiss und orange (diese drei Filamente habe ich quasi immer vorrätig). Der Racer und die Fernsteuerung lassen sich auch mit zwei Farben drucken, einfarbig wäre allerdings zu öde. Es soll ja auch etwas für’s Auge sein, wenn das Ding schon am Schlüsselbund hängt.

Damit der kleine Kopter sich nicht einsam fühlt, musste natürlich noch eine kleine Fernsteuerung her. Eine Herausforderung waren dabei die beweglichen Steuerknüppel. Dieses Problem habe ich mit Kugelgelenken gelöst. Diese sind so gestaltet, das sie bereits fix und fertig – also voll beweglich – aus dem Drucker kommen. Wenn man schon eine Funke in der Hand hat, will man ja auch etwas zum herumspielen haben.

Hintergrund-Infos

Warnung! Wer sich einen 3D Drucker anschaffen möchte, sollte vorher sicherstellen, das sich keine Kinder in seinem persönlichen Umfeld befinden – ansonsten wird es so enden, das man später nur noch die ganze Zeit Spielzeug für die Kids druckt und nichts anderes mehr. :-) Ausserdem sollte man darauf achten, das man nicht der einzige weit und breit ist, der einen 3D Drucker hat, denn sonst wird es darauf hinauslaufen, das man ständig Gadgets für den gesamten Freundeskreis, wenn nicht gar das ganze Viertel drucken muss…

Zum Modellieren meiner eigenen 3D Drucke benutze ich Cinema 4D. Die fertigen 3D Modelle werden dann noch mit NetFab „wasserdicht“ gemacht und optimiert, damit es beim Druck keine bösen Überraschungen gibt. Zum Slicen benutze ich Cura. Meiner Meinung nach der mit Abstand beste Slicer. Meine Erfahrungen mit Simplify 3D haben mich leider sehr ernüchtert und mich doch wieder zu Cura wechseln lassen, da Cura einfach eine bei weitem bessere Mesh Import Engine hat.

Gedruckt wird bei mir nur mit PLA. In meinen Drucker kommt nur noch Filament von JANBEX (bei Amazon), nachdem ich mit Filamenten von DasFilament.de äusserst schlechte Erfahrungen gemacht habe. Von diesen kann ich persönlich nur dringend abraten – die Qualität ist einfach zu schlecht und der Support miserabel – sorry Jungs.

Bilder

3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog 3d print printable printed keychain mini fpv drone micro drone micro fpv racer mini quadcopter thingiverse mike vom mars blog
Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *