Aerial Photography

DJI Spark: Forest Flight

Mike vom Mars Blog dji dji mavic dji spark fcc mode forest mavic air nature patched app scenic utting wald
 
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes  Viewed 1.215 times

On hot summer days it’s a pleasure to hike through the cool and shady forest – and to use the camera drone to capture atmospheric, almost mystical pictures.

Tip: a detailed review of DJI Spark with tips, tricks and mods you can find here.

Video:

It’s as quiet as in a church. One wants to whisper involuntarily so as not to disturb the peace of this place. The silence in a forest has something mystical, perhaps that is the reason why our ancestors worshipped forests as sacred places. On a hot summer day, when the sun burns from the sky at almost 30 degrees Celsius, it is also the perfect place to escape your hectic everyday life and to find peace and relaxation.

“Flying in the woods with the camera drone? Are you nuts?” This is about the reaction of many drone-fliers when it comes to film in the dense forest. But why not? After all, the tiny Spark has everything you need on board: sensors to avoid collisions with the vegetation and also some flight modes that are perfectly suited for this.

Especially the “Tripod” mode is ideal for navigating the Spark literally to the centimetre between branches and trees. Note: since I am flying with a patched app on which all flight modes of the Mavic are unlocked for the Spark, I am not sure if this mode is also available in the original, unpatched app. But as a Spark owner, you should “upgrade” to a patched app anyways ?

Even without Tripod Mode the Spark does quite well in the forest, but then you should rather stay on the paths. The tripod mode significantly reduces the speed and reaction of the copter – even when the stick is fully deflected, it glides slowly and leisurely. Very, very slowly. In normal use, this mode works so slowly that you almost want to lose patience. But it is ideal for use close to people, in an apartment, a full warehouse – or even in the forest.


 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Die Welt von oben

DJI Spark: Flug durch den Wald

Mike vom Mars Blog dji dji mavic dji spark fcc mode forest mavic air nature patched app scenic utting wald
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 2 Minuten  665 mal gelesen

An heissen Sommertagen bietet sich eine Wanderung durch den kühlen Wald an – und mit der Kameradrohne lassen sich dort stimmungsvolle, fast schon mystische Bilder einfangen.

Tipp: ein ausführliches Review zum DJI Spark mit Tipps, Tricks und Mods findet ihr hier.

Video:

Es ist still wie in einer Kirche. Unwillkürlich möchte man flüstern, um die Ruhe an diesem Ort nicht zu stören. Die Stille in einem Wald hat etwas mystisches, vielleicht ist das der Grund, warum unsere Vorfahren Wälder als heilige Orte verehrten. An einem heissen Sommertag, an dem die Sonne mit knapp 30 Grad vom Himmel brennt, ist er aber auch der perfekte Ort, um Ruhe und Entspannung zu finden.

„Mit der Kameradrohne im Wald fliegen? Bist du bekloppt?“ Das ist in etwa die Reaktion vieler Drohnenflieger auf den Vorschlag, doch auch mal im dichten Wald zu filmen. Aber warum nicht? Der Spark hat schliesslich alles an Bord, was man dafür braucht: Sensoren, um Kollisionen mit der Vegetation zu vermeiden und ausserdem auch einige Flugmodi, die sich perfekt dafür eignen.

Vor allem der „Tripod“ Modus eignet sich hervorragend, um den kleinen buchstäblich Zentimetergenau zwischen Ästen und Bäumen zu navigieren. Hinweis: da ich mit einer gepatchten App fliege, auf der alle Flugmodi des Mavic für den Spark freigeschaltet sind, bin ich mir nicht sicher, ob dieser Modus auch in der originalen, ungepatchten App verfügbar ist. Aber wer fliegt den Spark schon mit einer ungepatchten App bzw. mit angezogener Handbremse? ?

Auch ohne Tripod Modus lässt sich mit dem Spark recht gut im Wald filmen, dann sollte man allerdings lieber auf den Wegen bleiben. Der Tripod Mode verringert die Geschwindigkeit und Reaktion des Kopters deutlich – selbst bei vollem Knüppelausschlag gleitet er langsam und gemächlich dahin. Sehr, sehr langsam. Im normalen Einsatz wirkt dieser Modus so langsam, daß man fast die Geduld verlieren möchte. Ideal ist er aber für den Einsatz nah am Menschen, in der Wohnung, einer vollen Lagerhalle – oder eben im Wald.


 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *