Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: Babyhawk-R Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog 2 inch 3 inch babyhawk-r betaflight blheli_s dshot frsky xm+ mini fpv racer pids sq12 mini cam
 
Estimated reading time: 27 minutes  Viewed 16.132 times

EMAX BABYHAWK-R


Inhalt:
Page 1: Review
Page 2: Betaflight Setup
Page 3: Adding LED Strip


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.

 

Babyhawk-R

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

Since 2017 some really ingenious Mini FPV racers came onto the market – especially the Leader 120. But since then a lot has changed again, and there are some new FPV racers that also have what it takes to become a cult racer. Here’s the Babyhawk-R.

Most Mini Quads 2018 have one thing in common: they become more and more omnivores and swallow not only 2S Lipos, but meanwhile also 3S or even 4S! The Lizard95 already shows impressively how much power you can get out of a 3S Lipo with a mini FPV racer. The Babyhawk, especially the 3-inch version, is even designed for 4S.

Babyhawk-R: Three Versions

The EMAX Babyhawk-R can be flown with 3S or 4S Lipos and has a lot of features, so you don’t have to do much modding anymore. It comes in two variations (well, actually three):

2 inch version (112mm)

3 inch version (136mm)

as well as a 2.5 inch version (actually the 2 inch version with “upgrade” frame)

The 2.5 inch version is a modified 2 inch version with 2.5 inch arms, which allows you to install larger propellers. The 2 inch version flies quite lively and is generally designed for 3S, while the 3 inch version allows a slightly longer flight time and also easily carries the extra weight of a 4S lipo. The modded 2.5 inch version is somewhere in between.

Which variant you choose is up to your personal taste. The equipment is very much the same for the 2 inch and the 3 inch version and differs only in the frame size, the propeller size and the motors. In general one can say that the 2 inch version is rather designed for 3S and the 3 inch version flies quite well with 4S. For the 2 inch version a 4S Lipo would be a bit too big and heavy – but you can do so, if you want to.

The 3 inch version comes with EMAX RS1106 4500KV motors and 3 inch EMAX AVAN Mini Props, the 2 inch version with Emax RS1106 6000KV motors and Emax Avan Micro 2 inch 4-Blade Props:

EMAX Babyhawk-R Versions:
2 Inch3 Inch
Emax Avan Micro 2 Inch 4-Blade PropsMAX AVAN Mini 3 Inch 3-Blade Props
Emax RS1106 6000KV MotorsEMAX RS1106 4500KV Motors
3S Lipo suggested4S Lipo suggested
Size: 112mmSize: 136mm
Flies more agileLonger flight times

Design

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

 

The design of the EMAX Babyhawk-R is very unusual – almost unique. The screwed-on hood makes it look beautifully streamlined. In any case a real eye-catcher!

Advantage: under the cover the electronic insides of the Babyhawk are very well protected. So it’s definitely a plus. The hood is fixed with two screws and can be removed relatively quickly. The hood is available in three colors – black, red and transparent white – and is also available separately for a few bucks.

 

Equipment

The video transmitter can be switched between 25mW and 200mW ouput power, providing sufficient power for interference-free transmission. In addition, the Babyhawk-R has a Foxeer Arrow Micro CCD camera built-in, which is almost equal to a Runcam Micro Swift. Just like the Runcam Micro, the Foxeer Cam also offers a quite extensive OSD menu with which you can adjust colors, exposure, contrast, sharpness etc. down to the last detail. The Foxeer Cam also offers WDR (Wide Dynamic Range) to compensate for large differences in brightness. The Foxeer Arrow Micro has two major advantages over a Runcam Micro: firstly, the dongle used to navigate through the OSD menu is already included with the Babyhawk-R (in contrast, it must be purchased separately for the Runcam Micro). The biggest advantage over the Runcam Micro is that the Foxeer can handle an input voltage of 5V to 40V, the Runcam Micro only 5V. Nice to see that Emax gave the Babyhawk-R a very decent cam!

What stands out about the EMAX Babyhawk-R is the Low ESR Capacitor soldered on the side. This is supposed to reduce video noise. We are not sure if this is really necessary, but unlike the Diatone Mini Racers, there is hardly any noise in the video image of the Babyhawk-R. Whether this thing really makes sense or not, you only find out if you cut it off. But it doesn’t really bother.

Compared with the Diatone GT-R90, and the Diatone GT-M3 the EMAX Babyhawk-R performs a little worse in terms of performance, but still flies brilliantly and is also available for a cheaper price. But the equipment is a bit more economical compared to the Diatones, the Babyhawk-R comes with a F3 flight controller instead of a F4.

The ESC of the Babyhawk can handle a good 12A, come with DSHOT600 and can be flashed with the very latest BLHeli_S firmware, so that DSHOT commands are also available if desired.

The Babyhawk-R’s on-board BEC delivers sufficient power with 3A – even the installation of an LED strip should pose no problem. A buzzer is also installed – this inconspicuous but vital component is often forgotten by manufacturers.

EMAX Babyhawk-R Features:
Flight ControllerOmnibus F3 Betaflight, 20x20mm (M2)
MCU STM32F303
OSD Betaflight OSD
Buzzer ✔️
BEC Integrated 5V@ 3A BEC
Receiver TypesPPM/SBUS/Spektrum DSM
ESC: BLHeli_S 12A 4-in-1 DSHOT600
Camera Micro CCD
VTX40 Channel 5.8g 25/200mw

Our Impression

Foxeer Arrow Micro
Contrary to our expectations, the Foxeer Arrow is absolutely on a par with the Runcam Micro Swift – if not superior. Once you’ve looked through the cam’s OSD and found the right settings, the video image is simply perfect in terms of contrast, sharpness, dynamic range and details. The Foxeer copes well with changes in brightness. The Foxeer always delivers a perfect picture, especially with the Wide Dynamic Range feature enabled. This makes the Babyhawk the first Mini Racer we’ve ever seen that the manufacturer has already provided us with an absolutely usable cam. Very commendable.

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

Realacc Stubby

A clear weakness is the built-in FPV antenna, which in flight often causes a drop-out. We had drop-outs of 1-2 seconds, which is not acceptable. We have therefore immediately replaced the stock cam with a Realacc Stubby, which delivers significantly better performance and less fluttering in the wind. Thanks to the IPEX connector, an antenna change is done quickly, the antenna is not soldered but clipped on and can be easily replaced.

Design & Quality
The striking design of the Babyhawk-R with its hood proves to be very practical in everyday use: the electronics are well protected in there. The hood is fixed at the front as well as at the rear with two screws. Just loosen the two rear screws and it folds forward like the bonnet of a car. The frame is very stable and can withstand a lot. The Avan Mini Props can also withstand a lot and do not break right away. The soldering points of the motor pads are not as fragile with the Babyhawk as with many other Minis, but if you like to swing the soldering iron, you can go over it again. Experience has shown that it is precisely at these points that motor cables are often disconnected by constant vibration. Here it really depends on solid soldering work.

Flight Characteristics
The agility of the Babyhawk is more comfortable – at least when compared to the Lizard95 Anniversary Edition, which shows significantly more speed and acceleration. Nevertheless, the Babyhawk 3 Inch also has enough power with 3S for a decent punch. A “Need for Speed”-feeling like with the Lizard doesn’t come up here, but the Babyhawk flies very “smooth”, pleasant and exact.

With 3S 650 mAh it flies quite well. Using a 4S 650 mAh, however, showed only 10%-15% more agility and power, but a slightly shorter flight time. This is a little disappointing, because one of the Babyhawk’s advantages should be to take 4S Lipos as well. Okay, it does – but the difference between 3S and 4S is not really worth it here. The Babyhawk-R flies best with 3S Lipo that does not bring too much weight. 4S doesn’t really seem to bring any advantages to the Babyhawk 3 Inch, unless you settle for Lipos below 500 mAh and therefore a very short flight time.

Flighttimes
The flight time of our test flights with 3S 650 mAh Lipos with aggressive flight style was just over three minutes. With a 4S 650 mAh even a little bit below. But if you like it a bit more relaxed and prefer to fly at half throttle, you can tickle with a 3S 650 Lipo about eight(!) minutes flight time out of the Babyhawk R (see video proof)!

Summary
With the Babyhawk-R you get a Mini FPV Racer with appealing optics, which comes out-of-the-box with useful equipment. You don’t have to do much modding here. The Foxeer camera is more than equal to a Runcam Micro, frame, props and hood are very stable and can withstand quite a lot. Only the FPV antenna should be replaced by a better one. Unfortunately the Babyhawk-R is not equipped with an LED strip, but corresponding pins are available on the FC board, so you can add one, if you like to. The Babyhawk-R flies very smoothly and exactly. You always have the feeling of control over it. Since it flies a little less aggressive than e.g. the Lizard95, it is very suitable as a park flyer and for pilots who do not always have to push their limits.

 

Babyhawk Spare Parts:
Babyhawk-R 2 Inch Version
Babyhawk-R 3 Inch Version
Foxeer Arrow Micro FPV Cam
EMAX RS1106 Motor
Babyhawk-R Spare 25mw/200mW VTX
Emax AVAN Mini 3 Inch Props
FrSky XM+ 16CH Receiver
Realacc Stubby Mini FPV Antenna
SQ12 Mini 1080p Cam
XF Power 3S 850mAh Lipo
XF Power 4S 550mAh Lipo
Babyhawk-R Hood, different colors

On the next page: Betaflight setup of the Babyhawk-R.

View all articles
Articles in this category

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Recent Comments

  1. Hello,
    I have the babyhawk R 112m by emax and i am confused as i dont know which FPV app i need to view the live videos fron hawk as it travels or do i not need sn app.

  2. Hi, I think you should buy FPV goggles, because all "real" FPV are using analog transmission over 5.8 GHz (babyhawk does). So if you would like to use your tablet or phone (bad idea because of video latency) you should check banggood and look for "USB fpv" device. But it's way better to fly with goggles – even cheap one.

  3. Mike-vom-Mars

    Right. Most racing drones use ANALOG video transmission on the 5.8GHz band. There are dozens of 5.8GHz video goggles available (Fatshark, Eachine, Aomway etc). Camera drones, in contrast, are mostly using DIGITAL video transmission which requires a smartphone app. DIGITAL video transmission is not useful for racing drones because of the noticeable lag (150 milliseconds or more). This is why racing drones all use ANALOG video transmission (no apps – just an analog FPV goggle required).

  4. Vielen Dank für das tolle Review. Aufgrund dieses Tests habe ich mich auch für diesen kleinen Racer entschieden.
    Und ich bin begeistert!
    Leider hat aber der LED-Mod nicht so richtig funktioniert bei mir. Also eigentlich hat alles funktioniert, aber das Videobild hat ganz verrückt geflackert sobald ich die LED eingeschaltet habe. Ich habe das selbe LED-Board wie hier benutzt. Hattest du das gleiche Problem?

  5. Mike-vom-Mars

    Es könnte sein, daß das Flight Controller Board des Racers nicht mehr genug Strom für den Videosender bereitstellen kann, sobald die LEDs als Verbraucher mit angeschlossen sind – dieses Problem haben viele Minis, vor allem wenn der VTX auf die höchste Sendestufe gestellt ist. Die 5V Schiene der Boards liefert meist nur ~1A, was für Empfänger, Videosender, Kamera, Board und LEDs dann doch sehr knapp ist.

    Um dieses Problem zu umgehen, installiere ich bei allen Minis grundsätzlich einen 5V BEC (z.B. der von Matek: https://bit.ly/2Rwjyfs ). Der wird einfach an die Lipokontakte des Racers gelötet und liefert dann genug Ampere für alle benötigten Komponenten.

  6. Hi,
    toller Blog!

    Wie hast du den LED Strip im Betaflight prgrammiert?
    Die leuchten bei mir nur gelb, egal was ich einstelle und zuweise.
    Gruß
    Rallef

  7. Mike-vom-Mars

    Rallef, hast du den Data Pin des LED Strips mit dem LED Data Pin des Flight Controllers verbunden? Dann sollte es eigentlich funktionieren.

  8. hi, hab den fehler, die V4 der Betaflight macht die LEDś nicht mehr ;-)
    gruß

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Technik & Reviews

Review: Babyhawk-R Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog 2 inch 3 inch babyhawk-r betaflight blheli_s dshot frsky xm+ mini fpv racer pids sq12 mini cam
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 14 Minuten  3.272 mal gelesen

EMAX BABYHAWK-R


Inhalt:
Seite 1: Review
Seite 2: Betaflight Setup
Seite 3: LED Strip anbringen

 

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

2 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding led strip foxeer micro arrow mike vom mars blog

3 Inch Version

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

Seit 2017 kamen einige wirklich geniale Mini FPV Racer auf den Markt – allen voran der Leader 120. Doch seitdem hat sich wieder eine Menge getan, und es gibt einige neue Rennsemmeln, die ebenfalls das Zeug zum Kultracer haben. Hier stellen wir euch den Babyhawk-R vor.

Eines haben die meisten Mini Quads 2018 gemeinsam: sie werden mehr und mehr zu Allesfressern und schlucken nicht mehr nur 2S Lipos, sondern mittlerweile auch 3S oder sogar 4S! Der Lizard95 zeigt bereits eindrucksvoll, wie viel Power man mit einem Mini Racer aus einem 3S Lipo holen kann. Der Babyhawk, insbesondere die 3-inch Version, ist sogar auf 4S ausgelegt.

Babyhawk-R: Drei Varianten

Der EMAX Babyhawk-R kann mit 3S oder 4S Lipos geflogen werden und verfügt über eine üppige Ausstattung, so daß man gar nicht mehr viel modden muss. Er kommt in zwei Variationen (naja, eigentlich drei):

Eine 2 Inch Variante (112mm)

Eine 3 Inch Variante (136mm)

Sowie eine 2.5 Inch Variante (die 2 Inch Version mit „Upgrade“-Frame)

Die 2.5 Inch Variante ist also quasi eine gemoddete 2-Inch Version mit 2.5 Inch Armen, wodurch man dann natürlich etwas grössere Propeller installieren kann. Die 2 Inch Variante fliegt sich schon recht spritzig und ist eigentlich für 3S ausgelegt, die 3 Inch Version ermöglicht dagegen eine etwas längere Flugzeit und trägt auch das Mehrgewicht eines 4S Lipos. Die gemoddete 2.5 Inch Version liegt irgendwo dazwischen.

Welche Variante man wählt, ist also dem Geschmack des Piloten überlassen. Die Ausstattung ist sowohl bei der 2-Inch, als auch der 3-Inch Version gleich und unterscheidet sich nur in der Framegrösse, den aufgeschraubten Propellern und den Motoren. Auf den ersten Blick sind beide Versionen durch die Propeller zu unterscheiden: die 2 Inch Version trägt kleine, gedrungene 4-Blatt Props, die 3-Inch Version dagegen deutlich grössere 3-Blatt Propeller.

Generell kann man sagen, daß die 2-Inch Version eher für 3S ausgelegt ist, die 3-Inch Version dagegen eher für 4S.

Die 3-Inch Version kommt mit EMAX RS1106 4500KV Motoren und 3 Inch EMAX AVAN Mini Props, die 2-Inch Version dagegen mit Emax RS1106 6000KV Motoren und Emax Avan Micro 2-Inch 4-Blade Props:

EMAX Babyhawk-R Versionen:
2 Inch3 Inch
Emax Avan Micro 2 Inch 4-Blade PropsMAX AVAN Mini 3 Inch 3-Blade Props
Emax RS1106 6000KV MotorenEMAX RS1106 4500KV Motoren
3S Lipo empfohlen4S Lipo empfohlen
Grösse: 112mmGrösse: 136mm
Fliegt sich spritzigerLängere Flugzeit

Design

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

 

Das Design des EMAX Babyhawk-R ist schon sehr aussergewöhnlich – fast schon einzigartig. Durch die aufgeschraubte Haube sieht er schön stromlinienförmig aus. Auf jeden Fall ein wirklicher Hingucker! Vorteil: unter der Abdeckung sind die elektronischen Innereien des Babyhawk sehr gut geschützt. Also auf jeden Fall ein Pluspunkt.

Die Haube ist mit zwei Schrauben befestigt, lässt sich relativ schnell abnehmen. Sie ist in drei Farben erhältlich – schwarz, rot und transparent weiss – und kann als Ersatzteil einzeln bezogen werden.

Ausstattung

Der Videosender lässt sich zwischen 25mW und 200mW umschalten, liefert also ausreichend Power für eine störungsfreie Übertragung. Zudem ist im Babyhawk-R eine Foxeer Arrow Micro CCD Kamera verbaut, die quasi ebenbürtig mit einer Runcam Micro Swift ist. Genau wie die Runcam Micro bietet auch die Foxeer Cam ein recht umfangreiches OSD-Menü, über das man Farben, Belichtung, Kontrast, Schärfe usw. bis ins Detail anpassen kann. Auch die Foxeer Cam bietet WDR (Wide Dynamic Range), um grosse Helligkeitsunterschiede auszugleichen. Die Foxeer Arrow Micro hat gegenüber einer Runcam Micro aber zwei grosse Vorteile: zum einen liegt der Dongle, mit dem man durch das OSD Menü navigiert, bereits bei (muss bei der Runcam Micro separat erworben werden). Der grösste Vorteil gegenüber der Runcam Micro ist aber, daß die Foxeer eine Eingangsspannug von 5V bis 40V verträgt, die Runcam Micro dagegen nur 5V. Bravo, hier hat Emax dem Babyhawk-R mal eine passable Cam spendiert!

Was beim EMAX Babyhawk-R auffällt, ist der seitlich angelötete Low ESR Capacitor. Dieser soll wohl ein rauschfreies Videobild ermöglichen. Das mag gewöhnungsbedürftig sein, allerdings ist beim Babyhawk-R, im Gegensatz zu den Diatone Mini Racern, kaum Rauschen im Videobild zu bemerken. Ob das Ding nun wirklich Sinn macht, oder nicht, findet man wohl nur heraus, wenn man es abzwickt. Aber es stört auch nicht wirklich.

Im Vergleich mit dem Diatone GT-R90, sowie dem Diatone GT-M3 schneidet der EMAX Babyhawk-R in Punkte Performance ein wenig schlechter ab, fliegt sich aber immer noch genial und ist dafür auch schon für einen günstigeren Preis zu haben. Dafür ist die Ausstattung im Vergleich zu den Diatones eben etwas sparsamer, so ist z.B. ein F3 Flight Controller anstelle eines F4 verbaut.

Die ESC des Babyhawk verkraften gute 12A, kommen mit DSHOT600 und lassen sich auch mit der allerneuesten BLHeli_S Firmware flashen, so daß einem auch DSHOT Commands zur Verfügung stehen, falls erwünscht.

Der On-Board BEC des Babyhawk-R liefert mit 3A ausreichend Power – da sollte auch der Anbau eines LED Strips kein Problem darstellen. Ein Buzzer ist ebenfalls installiert – dieses unscheinbare, aber überlebenswichtige Bauteil wird von Herstellern gerne mal vergessen.

EMAX Babyhawk-R Ausstattung:
Flight ControllerOmnibus F3 Betaflight, 20x20mm (M2)
MCU STM32F303
OSD Betaflight OSD
Buzzer ✔️
BEC Integrated 5V@ 3A BEC
Receiver TypesPPM/SBUS/Spektrum DSM
ESC: BLHeli_S 12A 4-in-1 DSHOT600
Camera Micro CCD
VTX40 Channel 5.8g 25/200mw

Unser Eindruck

Foxeer Arrow Micro
Entgegen unseren Erwartungen ist die Foxeer Arrow der Runcam Micro Swift absolut ebenbürtig – wenn nicht sogar überlegen. Hat man sich erst einmal durch das OSD der Cam gewühlt und die richtigen Einstellungen gefunden, ist das Videobild einfach perfekt, sowohl was Kontrast, Schärfe, Dynamic Range und Details angeht. Mit Helligkeitswechsel kommt die Foxeer prima zurecht und dank Wide Dynamic Range gibt es auch keinerlei Probleme, wenn sehr helle und sehr dunkle Bereiche (z.B. Boden und Himmel) gleichzeitig im Bild sind. Die Foxeer liefert hier immer ein perfektes Bild. Damit ist der Babyhawk tatsächlich der erste Mini Racer, der uns bisher unterkam, der vom Hersteller bereits eine absolut brauchbare Cam spendiert bekam. Sehr lobenswert.

emax babyhawk-r 2 inch 3 inch 2inch 3inch review mods vs comparison diatone gt-90 gt-m3_01 sq12 mini hd cam frsky xm+ 16ch fx power 3s 4s mods modding

Realacc Stubby

Ein deutlicher Schwachpunkt ist allerdings die verbaute FPV Antenne, die im Flug immer wieder für Aussetzer sorgt, die mitunter schon mal 1-2 Sekunden dauern können. Das geht gar nicht. Wir haben sie deshalb sofort durch eine Realacc Stubby ersetzt, die eine deutlich bessere Performance liefert und im Wind weniger herumflattert. Ein Antennwechsel geht beim Babyhawk dank IPEX-Stecker sehr fix, die Antenne ist nicht angelötet, sondern angeklipst und kann jederzeit durch eine andere ersetzt werden.

Design & Qualität
Das markante Design des Babyhawk-R mit seiner Haube erweist sich im Alltag als sehr praktisch: die Elektronik ist damit sehr gut geschützt. Die Haube ist sowohl vorne, als auch hinten mit zwei Schrauben befestigt. Es genügt, die hinteren beiden Schrauben zu lösen, dann lässt sie sich nach vorne klappen, wie die Motorhaube eines Autos. Der Rahmen ist sehr stabil und hält einiges aus. Auch die Avan Mini Props halten einiges aus und gehen nicht gleich zu Bruch. Die Lötpunkte der Motorpads sind beim Babyhawk zwar nicht so fragil, wie bei manch anderen Minis, aber wer gerne den Lötkolben schwingt, kann da gerne noch mal drüber gehen. Gerade an diesen Stellen lösen sich erfahrungsgemäss gerne die Motorkabel durch ständige Vibration. Hier kommt es also wirklich auf solide Lötarbeit an.

Fluggefühl
Der Babyhawk-R 3 Inch fliegt sich präzise und flott, ist von der Agilität her aber eher im gemütlicheren Bereich anzusiedeln – zumindest, wenn man ihn mit mit dem Lizard95 Anniversary Edition vergleicht, der hier deutlich mehr Speed und Beschleunigung zeigt. Dennoch hat der Babyhawk 3 Inch auch mit 3S genug Power, um einen ordentlichen Punch hinzulegen und mal eben den einen oder anderen Baum unter sich zu lassen. Ein „Need for Speed“-Feeling wie beim Lizard kommt hier zwar nicht auf, dafür fliegt der Babyhawk sich aber sehr „smooth“, angenehm und exakt. Im Grunde ist er damit der ideale Park Flyer.

Mit 3S 650 mAh fliegt er sich schon ganz gut. Im Test zeigte sich allerdings seltsamerweise, das der Babyhawk mit 4S 650 mAh nur gerade mal 10%-15% mehr Agilität und Power zeigt, dafür aber eine leicht kürzere Flugzeit. Das ist ein wenig enttäuschend, denn so spielt der Babyhawk seinen Vorteil, auch 4S Lipos schlucken zu können, nicht wirklich aus. Am besten fährt bzw. fliegt man also mit 3S Lipos. 4S bringen beim Babyhawk 3 Inch unserem Eindruck nach nicht wirklich Vorteile, es sei denn, man begnügt sich mit Lipos unter 500 mAh und somit einer sehr kurzen Flugzeit.

Flugzeit
Die Flugzeit lag bei unseren Testflügen mit 3S 650 mAh Lipos bei bei aggressivem Flug bei etwas über drei Minuten. Mit einem 4S 650 mAh sogar ein klein wenig darunter. Wer es aber auch gerne mal etwas gemütlicher angeht und lieber auf Halbgas fliegt, kann mit einem 3S 650er Lipo durchaus an die acht(!) Minuten Flugzeit aus dem Babyhawk R kitzeln (siehe Video)!

Fazit
Mit dem Babyhawk-R bekommt man einen Mini FPV Racer mit ansprechender Optik, der out-of-the-box bereits mit absolut brauchbarer Ausstattung kommt. Hier muss nicht mehr viel gemoddet werden. Die Foxeer Kamera ist einer Runcam Micro mehr als ebenbürtig, Frame, Props und Haube sind sehr stabil und halten durchaus einiges aus. Lediglich die FPV Antenne sollte gegen eine bessere getauscht werden. Leider wurde dem Babyhawk-R kein LED Strip spendiert, dieser lässt sich aber selbst nachrüsten, entsprechende Pins sind auf dem FC Board vorhanden. Der Babyhawk-R fliegt sich sehr smooth und exakt und sogar noch einen Ticken flotter, als der Leader 120. Man hat jederzeit das Gefühl, ihn gut unter Kontrolle zu haben. Da er etwas weniger agressiv fliegt, als z.B. der Lizard95, eignet er sich sehr gut als Park Flyer und für Piloten, die nicht unbedingt immer ans Limit gehen müssen.

 

Babyhawk Zubehör / Ersatzteile:
Babyhawk-R 2 Inch Version
Babyhawk-R 3 Inch Version
Foxeer Arrow Micro FPV Cam
EMAX RS1106 Motor
Babyhawk-R Spare 25mw/200mW VTX
Emax AVAN Mini 3 Inch Props
Realacc Stubby Mini FPV Antenne
FrSky XM+ 16CH Receiver
SQ12 Mini 1080p Cam
XF Power 3S 850mAh Lipo
XF Power 4S 550mAh Lipo
Babyhawk-R Ersatzhaube, versch. Farben

Auf der nächsten Seite: Betaflight-Setup des Babyhawk-R.

Alle Artikel
Diese Kategorie

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *