Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: Eachine Lizard95 Micro FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog anniversary edition betaflight blheli_s dshot eachine lizard95 frsky xm+ gemfan 2035 mini fpv racer mods pids review runcam micro swift vtx03
 
Estimated reading time: 38 minutes  Viewed 10.998 times
Page 3 / 4

EACHINE LIZARD95 ANNIVERSARY EDITION


Inhalt:
Page 1: Review
Page 2: Betaflight Setup
Page 3: Installing a Runcam Micro
Page 4: Lizard95 Speed Mod

 

Stock Cam VS Runcam Micro Swift

Basic rule: the true performance of an FPC cam turns out only with English weather, not with Californian. Means: in cloudy conditions, not in sunshine. It would be nice if the manufacturers understood that.

The Lizard95 comes with an FPV cam that is average at best. In sunny weather it is quite usable, but in poor light conditions it quickly breaks down. So we chose the Runcam Micro Swift, which provides a perfect picture in every situation.

Consider yourself wether you want to replace the stock cam of the Lizard95 with a Runcam Micro Swift or not. The stock cam provides useful images in sunshine, but is very dark and dull in cloudy weather. Also when changing between light to dark areas (sky to ground) the stock cam doesn’t perform really well, the ground remains extra dark for a few moments and only lightens up slowly. This effect is even more dramatic on cloudy days.

The Runcam, on the other hand, always keeps the same exposure, whether sky or ground, sunny or cloudy. In addition, you can adjust the settings of the Runcam as you like via OSD, the stock cam has no settings whatsoever. However, the Runcam with the VTX03 transmitter has a bit more weight, which makes the Lizard a little less lively.

Comparison Video:

Installing a Runcam Micro Swift

In addition to the Runcam we also have to install a new video transmitter, because the video transmitter of the Lizard95 is fixed to the original camera. We choose the popular VTX03, which transmits at 200 mW, is very light and small, and already performs excellently in many mini quads.

After we exchanged the original cam and video transmitter for the Runcam and a VTX03, the Lizard95 will be about 5-7 grams heavier than before. So you lose a little liveliness and agility in flight (10-15% by feeling), but you have a great video image, which is always perfectly exposed.

Unfortunately the original frame of the Lizard95 is about 2mm too narrow for the Runcam. You could simply clamp them between the two side parts, but these then bend outwards so strongly that there is danger of breakage.

I have therefore designed new side panels for the Lizard95, which you can print out with the 3D printer. Simply replace the original side panels with the printed ones, then you can easily attach the Runcam Micro and the VTX03 video transmitter:

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

You can download the modified side frames for free on Thingiverse .

The wiring of the Runcam and the VTX03 video transmitter is quite simple. This can be seen on the following picture. Since the Lizard95 comes with a connector plug for the video transmitter, we only have to connect the Runcam and the video transmitter with this plug. Nothing has to be soldered on the board itself:

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035
Lizard95 Parts:
Eachine Lizard95 Anniversary Version
Eachine Lizard95 Frame Kit
Eachine Lizard95 600TVL FPV Cam
Eachine Lizard95 Minicube
Runcam Micro Swift
VTX03 200mW Mini VTX
Eachine Lizard95 Motor
Gemfan 2035 4-Blade Propeller
Eachine Lizard95 3S 550mAh 40 / 80C Lipo
FPV Antenna (better version!)
2.4GHz Receiver Antenna (FrSky + DSM)

On the next page: Installing a Runcam Micro Swift

View all articles
Articles in this category

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Technik & Reviews

Review: Eachine Lizard95 Micro FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog anniversary edition betaflight blheli_s dshot eachine lizard95 frsky xm+ gemfan 2035 mini fpv racer mods pids review runcam micro swift vtx03
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 19 Minuten  4.610 mal gelesen
Seite 3 / 4

EACHINE LIZARD95 ANNIVERSARY EDITION


Inhalt:
Seite 1: Review
Seite 2: Betaflight Setup
Seite 3: Runcam Micro anbringen
Seite 4: Tipps und Mods

 

Vergleich Stock Cam VS Runcam Micro Swift

Grundregel: ob eine FPV Cam taugt, stellt sich nur bei Englischem Wetter heraus, nicht bei Kalifornischem. Heißt: bei Bewölkung, nicht bei Sonnenschein. Wäre schön, wenn die Hersteller das mal kapieren würden.

Der Lizard95 kommt mit einer FPV Cam, die bestenfalls durchschnittlich ist. Bei sonnigem Wetter ist diese durchaus brauchbar, bei schlechteren Lichtverhältnissen macht sie aber schnell schlapp. Als Nonplusultra unter den Mini FPV Kameras gilt die Runcam Micro Swift, die hier einfach in jeder Situation ein perfektes Bild liefert.

Ob man die Stock Cam des Lizard95 gegen eine Runcam Micro Swift tauschen möchte, muss man für sich selbst abwägen. Die Stock Cam leistet bei Sonnenschein durchaus brauchbare Bilder, ist bei Bewölkung aber sehr dunkel und Kontrastlos. Auch bei Wechsel zwischen hell und dunkel (Himmel zu Boden) schneidet die Stock Cam nicht wirklich gut ab, der Boden bleibt hier für einige Augenblicke erst mal extram dunkel und hellt nur langsam nach. Dieser Effekt ist bei Bewölkung noch drastischer.

Die Runcam hingegen hält immer die selbe Belichtung, ob Himmel oder Boden, ob sonnig oder bewölkt. Zudem kann man die Einstellungen der Runcam nach Belieben per OSD anpassen, die Stock Cam hat keinerlei Einstellungen. Allerdings bringt die Runcam mit dem VTX03 Sender ein bisschen mehr Gewicht mit, was den Lizard etwas weniger spritzig macht.

Vergleichsvideo:

Einbau einer Runcam Micro Swift

Zusätzlich zur Runcam müssen wir auch einen neuen Videosender einbauen, da der Videosender des Lizard95 fest an der Originalkamera angebracht ist. Wir entscheiden uns für den beliebten VTX03, der mit 200 mW sendet, sehr leicht und klein ist, und in vielen Mini Quads bereits einen hervorragenden Dienst leistet.

Nachdem wir original Cam und Videosender gegen die Runcam und einen VTX03 getauscht haben, wird der Lizard95 in etwa 5-7 Gramm schwerer sein, als vorher. Man büsst also ein klein wenig Spritzigkeit und Agilität im Flug ein (nach Gefühl ca. 10-15%), hat dafür aber ein klasse Videobild, das immer perfekt belichtet ist.

Leider ist der Rahmen des Lizard95 ca. 2mm zu schmal für die Runcam. Man könnte sie einfach zwischen die beiden Seitenteile klemmen, aber diese biegen sich dann so stark nach aussen, daß Bruchgefahr besteht.

Ich habe deshalb neue Seitenteile für den Lizard95 designed, den ihr mit dem 3D Drucker ausdrucken könnt. Man ersetzt einfach die original Seitenteile mit den gedruckten, dann lassen sich die Runcam Micro und der VTX03 Videosender einfach anbringen:

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Diese modifizierten Seitenteile für den Lizard95 könnt ihr kostenlos auf Thingiverse herunterladen und ausdrucken.

Die Vekabelung der Runcam und des VTX03 Videosenders ist recht simpel. Diese ist auf dem folgenden Bild zu sehen. Da der Lizard95 ja mit einem Stecker für den Videosender kommt, müssen wir die Runcam und den Videosender nur mit diesem Stecker verbinden. Am Board selbst muss nichts gelötet werden:

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035
Lizard95 Zubehör:
Eachine Lizard95 Anniversary Version
Eachine Lizard95 Frame Kit
Eachine Lizard95 600TVL FPV Cam
Eachine Lizard95 Minicube
Runcam Micro Swift
VTX03 200mW Mini VTX
Eachine Lizard95 Motor
Gemfan 2035 4-Blade Propeller
Eachine Lizard95 3S 550mAh 40 / 80C Lipo
FPV Ersatzantenne (bessere Version)
2.4GHz Empfänger Ersatzantenne (FrSky + DSM)

Auf der nächsten Seite: Tipps und Mods für den Lizard95

Alle Artikel
Diese Kategorie

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *