Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog 1000tvl 2s 3s banggood buzzer fly egg fly egg 100 fly egg 130 fpv racing kingkong led strip micro fpv mini fpv
 
Estimated reading time: 7 minutes  Viewed 5.220 times


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.


KingKong had already done a lot right with the iconic 90GT and brought one of the best-selling Micro FPV Racers onto the market. Now there’s a successor: the “Fly Egg”, which is available in a 100mm variant as well as a larger 130mm variant with stronger engines.

KingKong 130 “Fly Egg” Mini FPV Racer

(German) KingKong Fly Egg 130

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

 

Features
2-3S GT1105-7000KV Motors
2-3S BLheli_S 10A 4-in-1 ESC (MultiShot, OneShot, DShot)
130mm Carbon Fiber Frame
7075 Aluminum Protection Frames
Piko BLX F3 STM32 Flight Controller
16 Channel 25mW / 100mW Video Transmitter
800TVL HD Camera (150° FOV)
Either with FrSky, DSM2, FASST Receiver
Weight: ~78g
Comes with transportation box
Pre-flashed Betaflight
Useful Links
KingKong Fly Egg 130 at Banggood
10 Paar KingKong Fly Egg 130 Spare Propellers
1000TVL Micro FPV Camera

The KingKong Fly Egg comes in two versions: a smaller 100mm version and a 130mm version with stronger engines. Since we already have an (almost) perfect Micro Racer on the shelf with the KingKong 90GT, we decided to test the Fly Egg 130. We were curious to see how the stronger motors do and whether the 130 Fly Egg is as agile and lively as the small 90GT.

The KingKong 90GT was already a big hit and one of the fastest and most agile Micro FPV Racers we’ve seen so far. Almost everything is right with the 90GT. Almost! Unfortunately, he also had some drawbacks. The 90GT comes without a pre-installed buzzer. Also an LED strip had to be installed first. KingKong has now fixed these two shortcomings with the Fly Egg, it comes with both, a buzzer (which can be triggered by TX to find the quad more easily after a crash) as well as a mini LED strip consisting of two very bright LEDs, whose color and flashing mode can be configured as usual in Betaflight.

As with the 90GT, the Fly Egg gives a very solid and robust impression. Nothing feels “cheap” here. A special highlight, not only visually, are the two aluminium hoops that protect the electronics, the video transmitter and the camera. This not only looks noble, but also promises good durability.

Camera

The included 800 TVL camera doesn’t bring anything new: in sunlight it performs average and delivers a quite usable picture, in bright / dark changes, cloudy sky or backlight it performs more or less poor. As with the 90GT, a very good replacement for the KingKong cam is the 1000TVL from Banggood which is available for ~10 EUR, sized only 8x8mm and performs very well.

The viewing angle of the Fly Egg Cam is about 150 degrees and thus more than with the 90GT. The larger viewing angle makes it easier to see the ground when landing.

The camera angle is adjustable (four or five different levels are available), but unfortunately both aluminium brackets have to be unscrewed every time. It’s annoying! If you are used to fly with a fixed camera angle, you only have to make this effort once. But if you like to vary the camera angle from flight to flight, you’ll be really annoyed sooner or later.

The video transmitter supports only 16 channels, but four from each band. So there are channels to suit every need. Changing the video channel is very easy: just press a small button on the video transmitter. The transmitter’s LED then flashes in a color code (e. g. green-blue). The Fly Egg comes with a small table showing the color code for each channel (MHz).

The VTX transmits with 100mW by default. To set it down to 25mW (if this is desired at all), you would have to solder two pins together. Unfortunately, this is not possible via a dip switch.

Despite the simple pigtail antenna, we had good video reception throughout. The 100mW is therefore quite noticeable.

Receiver

We ordered the Fly Egg with DSM2 receiver. As with the 90GT, it was possible to bind it to the Devo 10 within seconds and without any problems, as long as “Spektrum1024” is set in BetaFlight. It is also gratifying that the receiver has two antennas.

Flying Characteristics

The standard PIDs of the Fly Egg are unfortunately not very well adjusted, here it is better to look for alternative PIDs or adjust them yourself. But once you have found the right PID setting, the Fly Egg flies phenomenal and very stable! Just like the 90GT, flips and rolls are a breeze. Thanks to its low weight, the Fly Egg has an ingenious hang time: if you take the throttle off at high altitudes, it almost looks as if it is stands weightlessly in the air. Nevertheless, we were a bit disappointed, because we had hoped for more power from the stronger motors of the 130 version. Despite its smaller size, the 90GT seems to be much faster than its predecessor.

The Fly Egg is not a perfect racer, it’s not fast enough to do so. However, it flies so well and stable that it is an ideal parkflyer, with which you can fly around where you can also meet passers-by. Already during the first flights we noticed how quiet the Fly Egg with its propellers is! It’s like flying in stealth mode! This makes it again a perfect parkflyer, because the noise level is so low and unobtrusive that no one feels disturbed. So anyone who likes to fly among people is perfectly served with the Fly Egg.

A quick PID adjustment brought up the following settings, with which the Fly Egg already flies quite well. Now and then you still have some propwash, but this should be completely eradicated with a change to Betaflight 3.2 and the use of the new “Dynamic Filter” features:

PID
Roll305022
Pitch254020
Yaw5045

Accessories

Like the 90GT, the Fly Egg comes in a great plastic transport box. A set of propeller protectors (including screws), some spare rubber sleeves for attaching the battery and a manual are included as accessories as well. Also included is a 350mAh 2S lipo battery, wich is therefore quite weak and should be replaced by a 600-850mAh lipo to get a better flight time.

Speaking of batteries: In our version, the Fly Egg came with a balancer plug, which plugs in the battery. This is of course an advantage, because this guarantees that every lipo can be connected. However, you should replace it with a JST connector sooner or later, because the experience has shown that balancer connectors like to loosen the pins, so the quad could fall out of the sky at any time! We have therefore soldered a JST plug to the Fly Egg. Newer versions of the Fly Egg now come with JST connectors, as we heard. I can’t say whether that’s true or not.

Summary

This KingKong finally comes with a pre-installed buzzer and even LEDs. The camera is still moderately good, but the video transmitter now transmits with 100mW, which is a significant improvement compared to the 25mW of the 90GT. The aluminium brackets are a visual highlight and seem to be very durable, but they are annoying when you have to unscrew them to adjust the camera angle. The flight characteristics are absolutely great, the Fly Egg can be flown precisely and great, but unfortunately it doesn’t reach the same speed as its predecessor 90GT.

Useful Links
KingKong Fly Egg 130 at Banggood
10 Paar KingKong Fly Egg 130 Spare Propellers
1000TVL Micro FPV Camera

 
Article not rated yet.




Recent Comments

  1. hi.. can you tell me the LED Strip pinout?

  2. Mike-vom-Mars

    Here is a wiring diagram of the board: http://bit.ly/2zDCaAL

    See the pin labeled "LED"? This is where the signal wire of your LED strip goes to. The 5V and GND wire of the LED strip can be connected to any of the 5V and GND pins on the board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tests & Reviews

Review: KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog 1000tvl 2s 3s banggood buzzer fly egg fly egg 100 fly egg 130 fpv racing kingkong led strip micro fpv mini fpv
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 7 Minuten

Mit dem kultigen 90GT hatte KingKong bereits vieles richtig gemacht und damit einen der meistverkauften Micro FPV Racer auf den Markt gebracht. Nun legt der Hersteller nach: mit dem „Fly Egg“, das es sowohl in der 100er Variante, als auch einer grösseren 130er Variante mit stärkeren Motoren gibt.

 

KingKong 130 „Fly Egg“ Mini FPV Racer

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars Kingkong fly egg 130 100 mini micro fpv racer quad multicopter racing quadrocopter review mike vom mars

KingKong Fly Egg 130 Mini FPV Racing Quad

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

 

Features auf einen Blick
2-3S GT1105-7000KV Motor
2-3S BLheli_S 10A 4-in-1 ESC (MultiShot, OneShot, DShot)
130mm Carbon Fiber Frame
7075 Aluminum Protection Frames
Piko BLX F3 STM32 Flight Controller
16 Kanal 25mW / 100mW Video Transmitter
800TVL HD Kamera (150° FOV)
Wahlweise mit FrSky, DSM2, FASST Receiver
Stromversorgung: 2S – 3S
Gewicht: ~78g
Kommt mit toller Aufbewahrungsbox
BetaFlight vorgeflasht
Nützliche Links
KingKong Fly Egg 130 bei Banggood
10 Paar KingKong Fly Egg 130 Ersatzpropeller
1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera

Der KingKong Fly Egg kommt in zwei Varianten: einer kleineren 100mm Version und einer 130er Version mit stärkeren Motoren. Da wir mit dem KingKong 90GT bereits einen (fast) perfekten Micro Racer im Regal haben, haben wir uns für den Fly Egg 130 entschieden. Nicht zuletzt auch wegen den stärkeren Motoren waren wir gespannt, ob der 130er Fly Egg genauso agil und spritzig ist, wie der kleine 90GT.

Schon der KingKong 90GT war ein ziemlicher Knaller und einer der schnellsten und wendigsten Micro FPV Racer, die uns bisher untergekommen sind. Beim 90GT stimmt fast alles. Fast! Denn leider hatte er auch einige Schattenseiten. So war kein Buzzer verbaut und musste erst umständlich nachgerüstet werden. Auch ein LED Strip musste erst selbst verbaut werden. Diese beiden Mankos hat KingKong mit dem Fly Egg nun behoben, er kommt sowohl mit Buzzer (der natürlich per Funke ausgelöst werden kann, um den Quad nach einem Absturz leichter zu finden), als auch einem Mini LED Strip, der aus zwei sehr hellen LEDs besteht, deren Farbe und Blinkmodus man wie gewohnt in Betaflight konfigurieren kann.

Wie schon beim 90GT fällt auch beim Fly Egg die sehr gute, solide Verarbeitung auf. Nichts fühlt sich hier „billig“ an. Ein besonderes Highlight, nicht nur optisch, sind die beiden Aluminiumschutzbügel, die die Elektronik, den Videosender und die Kamera schützen. Das sieht nicht nur edel aus, sondern verspricht auch eine gute Haltbarkeit.

Kamera

Die 800 TVL Kamera ist nichts weltbewegend neues: bei Sonnenlicht Mittelmass und liefert ein durchaus brauchbares Bild, bei hell / dunkel Wechseln, bewölktem Himmel oder Gegenlicht schneidet sie, genau wie die Kamera des 90GT leider nicht wirklich gut ab. Wie auch schon beim 90GT ist ein sehr guter Ersatz für die KingKong Cam die 1000TVL von Banggood, die für knapp über 10 EUR und mit nur 8x8mm Abmessungen locker auf den Micro passt.

Der Blickwinkel der Fly Egg Cam liegt bei etwa 150 Grad und damit mehr, als beim 90GT. Durch den grösseren Blickwinkel ist es somit nun leichter, beim Landen den Boden zu sehen.

Der Kamerawinkel ist zwar verstellbar (es stehen vier oder fünf verschiedene Stufen zur Verfügung), dafür müssen aber leider jedesmal beide Aluminumbügel abgeschraubt werden. Das nervt leider extrem! Wer es gewohnt ist, mit einem festen Kamerawinkel zu fliegen, muss sich diese Mühe ja nur einmal machen. Wer den Kamerawinkel aber gerne mal variiert, wird früher oder später ganz schön angenervt sein.

Der Videosender unterstützt zwar nur 16 Kanäle, dafür aber von jedem Band vier. Es sind also für jeden passende Kanäle dabei. Der Wechsel des Videokanals ist sehr einfach: dazu drückt man einfach auf einen kleinen Knopf auf dem Videosender. Die LED des Senders blinkt dann in einem Farbcode (z.B. Grün-Blau). Dem Fly Egg liegt eine kleine Tabelle bei, welcher Farbcode für welchen Kanal (MHz) steht.

Der VTX sendet standardmässig mit 100mW. Um ihn auf 25mW herunterzuregeln (falls das überhaupt erwünscht ist), müsste man zwei Pins miteinander verlöten. Per Dipschalter geht das leider nicht.

Trotz einfacher Whiplash-Antenne hatten wir durchweg guten Videoempfang. Die 100mW machen sich also durchaus bemerkbar.

Empfänger

Wir haben uns den Fly Egg mit DSM2 Empfänger bestellt. Dieser liess sich, wie beim 90GT auch schon, innerhalb von Sekunden und völlig problemlos mit der Devo 10 binden, sofern man in BetaFlight als Empfänger Spektrum1024 einstellt. Erfreulich auch, das der Empfänger über zwei Antennen verfügt.

Flugeigenschaften

Die Standard PIDs des Fly Egg sind leider nicht sehr optimal eingestellt, hier sucht man besser nach alternativen PIDs oder erfliegt sie sich selbst. Hat man aber erst mal die richtige PID Einstellung gefunden, fliegt der Fly Egg sich phänomenal und super stabil! Wie mit dem 90GT auch lassen sich Flips und Rolls perfekt fliegen. Dank des geringen Gewichts hat der Fly Egg eine geniale Hang Time: nimmt man in der Höhe das Gas weg, wirkt es fast so, als würde er schwerelos in der Luft stehen. Dennoch waren wir ein wenig enttäuscht, da wir uns von den stärkeren Motoren der 130er Version doch etwas mehr Power versprochen hatten. Der 90GT scheint hier trotz seiner geringeren Grösse deutlich schneller unterwegs zu sein.

Ein perfekter Racer ist der Fly Egg also leider nicht, dazu ist er nicht schnell genug. Allerdings fliegt er sich so gut und stabil, das er dafür ein idealer Parkflyer ist, mit dem sich prima dort herumdüsen lässt, wo man auch mal auf Passanten trifft. Schon bei den ersten Flügen fiel uns auf, wie leise der Fly Egg mit seinen mitgelieferten Propellern ist! Er ist definitiv der leiseste Kopter, der uns je untergekommen ist. Es ist fast so, als würde er im „stealth mode“ fliegen. Das macht ihn natürlich um so mehr zu einem perfekten Parkflyer, denn der Geräuschpegel ist so gering und unaufdringlich, das sich sicherlich niemand von ihm gestört fühlt. Wer also gerne unter Menschen fliegt, ist mit dem Fly Egg perfekt bedient.

Ein schnelles Erfliegen der PIDs brachte folgende Einstellungen, mit denen sich der Fly Egg schon ganz gut fliegt. Hin und wieder hat man zwar noch ein wenig Propwash, das sollte sich aber mit einem Wechsel auf Betaflight 3.2 und dem Einsatz des neuen „Dynamischer Filter“ Features vollständig tilgen lassen:

PID
Roll305022
Pitch254020
Yaw5045

Zubehör

Wie schon der 90GT kommt auch der Fly Egg in einer tollen Kunststoff-Transportbox. Als Zubehör liegen ein Satz Propellerschützer (samt Schrauben) bei, einige Ersatz-Gummimanschetten zur Befestigung des Akkus und ein Manual. Ein mit 350mAh leider recht schwacher 2S-Lipo liegt ebenfalls bei. Damit kann man schon mal die ersten Flüge absolvieren, allerdings sollte man dann schon auf 600-850mAh Lipos ausweichen, um deutlich mehr Flugzeit heraus zu holen.

Apropos Akku: In unserer Version verfügte der Fly Egg über einen Balancer-Stecker, über den der Akku eingesteckt wird. Das ist natürlich von Vorteil, weil so garantiert jeder Lipo angeschlossen werden kann. Allerdings sollte man dieses früher oder später durch einen JST Stecker ersetzen, da die Erfahrung gezeigt hat, das sich bei Balancer-Steckern gerne die Pins lockern und der Quad so bei einem Wackelkontakt jederzeit einfach vom Himmel fallen kann! Wir haben den Quad deshalb sofort auf JST umgerüstet. Neuere Versionen des Fly Egg sollen ebenfalls bereits mit JST-Steckern ausgeliefert werden. Ob das tatsächlich so ist, kann ich nicht sagen.

Fazit

Dieser KingKong kommt endlich mit bereits installiertem Buzzer und LEDs. Die Kamera ist leider immer noch mittelprächtig, dafür sendet der Videosender nun mit 100mW, was schon eine deutliche Verbesserung gegenüber den 25mW des 90GT bringt. Die Aluminiumbügel sind ein optisches Highlight, nerven aber leider ziemlich, wenn man sie abschrauben muss, um den Kamerawinkel zu verstellen. Die Flugeigenschaften sind absolut prima, der Fly Egg lässt sich präzise und toll fliegen, leider aber kommt er nicht ganz auf den selben Speed wie sein Vorgänger 90GT. Ein OSD vermisst man leider, aber das gab es beim KingKong 90GT ja auch nicht. Alles in allem ist der Fly Egg kein ultraschneller Racer, aber dafür ein wirklich einfach zu lenkender und flotter, akrobatischer Parkflyer.

Nützliche Links
KingKong Fly Egg 130 bei Banggood
10 Paar KingKong Fly Egg 130 Ersatzpropeller
1000TVL Micro FPV Kamera

 
Artikel wurde noch nicht bewertet.





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *