Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: Eachine Lizard95 Micro FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog anniversary edition betaflight blheli_s dshot eachine lizard95 frsky xm+ gemfan 2035 mini fpv racer mods pids review runcam micro swift vtx03
 
Estimated reading time: 38 minutes  Viewed 7.936 times

EACHINE LIZARD95 ANNIVERSARY EDITION


Index:
Page 1: Review
Page 2: Betaflight Setup
Page 3: Installing a Runcam Micro
Page 4: Lizard95 Speed Mod

 

Eachine Lizard95

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Runcam Micro Mod

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Runcam Micro Mod

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

The legendary KingKong 90GT was the first Micro Racer that made a worldwide impact. Eachine’s Lizard95 now takes on this legacy – and makes it even better, as it comes with an on-screen display and can even fly with 3S. Very impressive for its size!


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.

In early 2017 the KingKong 90GT was considered a star in the Micro FPV Racer sky – and many still fly it. However, the technology has developed a bit further in the last year and whoever reaches for the KingKong today immediately notices the missing On-Screen-Display (OSD), which conjures up valuable information in the video glasses during the flight. Also that the KingKong can only fly with 2S Lipos is a pity. Especially with this small weight class you could really enjoy the power of a 3S battery.

And this is exactly where the Lizard95 comes into play – more precisely, it’s Anniversary Edition. All the disadvantages of the KingKong seem to be solved with the Lizard95. An OSD is finally on board and the little now also swallows 3S Lipos. On 3S and with a weight of just under 70 grams, the Lizard flies like a guided missile!

?  Some Lizard95 pilots equipped with a radar gun measured this little quad with 70 mph – the Youtuber Alber Kim even managed to get it on nearly 100 mph, with slight modifications only (see this article)! This shows the potential of this small, ultra-light 3S racing bullet!

Equipment

The Eachine Lizard95 is a flyweight of just under 70 grams and can be flown with both 2S and 3S Lipos. The equipment of the Lizard is quite passable for a Micro:

The 48-channel video transmitter can be switched between 25mW and 100mW. 200mW would be better (at least on paper), but with a 2S Lipo this would draw relatively much current and provide a hot video transmitter. With a Micro FPV Racer, 100mW is usually enough, because you don’t fly around half the globe with a micro FPV racer.

The built-in 600TVL FPV camera is better than the KingKong’s, but does not come close to a Runcam Micro Swift. However, the Lizard95 can be easily upgraded with a Runcam Micro and a VTX03 video transmitter. The video transmitter and the FPV camera are plugged together piggyback.

The Eachine 1104 KV6000 motors can be flown with 2S and 3S lipos, the BLHELI_S DSHOT600 4-in-1 ESC can handle a peak of up to 15 amps. According to the data sheet, the F3 flight controller is preflashed with Betaflight 3.1, but some copies also have been delivered with Betaflight 3.2 yet. Betaflight 3.3 seems to be a bit buggy atm, so we would not recommend to install a higher version anyways.

An XT30 connector is available to connecting a 3S Lipo. An advantage for everyone who wants to fly the Lizard with 3S. If you prefer fly it with 2S Lipos (which usually come with a JST plug), you can make an adapter with little effort.

Gratifying: a handy buzzer, as well as a programmable LED strip is already installed.

Lizard95 Features:
Flight ControllerOmnibus F3 Betaflight, 20x20mm (M2)
Motors Eachine 1104 6000KV
MCU STM32 F303 MCU
OSD Betaflight OSD
Buzzer ✔️
LED Strip ✔️
ReceiverFrSky D8 / FlySky 8CH / DSMX
ESC BLHeli_S 16.5 15A 4-in-1 DSHOT600
Camera 600TVL
VTX48 Channel 25/200mw
PlugXT30

Our Impressions

In fact, we got a Lizard95 with Betaflight 3.2.0 pre-installed, so the newer ones are probably already updated. That’s good. I have had mixed experiences with Eachine so far, so I was quite sceptical about the test. But after a few flights it became clear: the Lizard95 is a speed monster and really a lot of fun!

Speed
Clearly, the Lizard95 Anniversary Edition is the fastest mini racer we’ve ever flewn yet! With a 3S lipo this little thunderbolt accelerates like a Tesla car! You almost have the feeling of being pressed into the seat while accelerating. I have never experienced such a massive acceleration in the lower third on any other micro and mini quad. The Lizard95 is indeed a small rocket – and buzzes even better than the Leader 120, my previous long-term favourite.

In the test we whipped the quad with 3S 650 lipos and had a lot of fun – the acceleration, the hang times, the top speed – the Lizard95 flies remarkably well. So it is simply fun to whip the little one through the sky. We have never experienced such an agility, punch and speed with a micro quad and here the Lizard95 even beats the Leader 120. Awesome.

Of course the fun with a 3S 650 Lipo is over after only four minutes, depending on how wild you fly. But that’s okay. Maybe the Lizard could also use a 3S 800, but it wouldn’t be as agile as with the 650s or the 550 lipo. For those who prefer longer flight times and also like it a little more comfortable (for indoor flying or in close areas), a 2S 600 – 850 Lipo would also be recommended.

Flight Duration
The measured flight times were the same with both the enclosed 5-blade propellers and the Gemfan 2035 4-blade props, there is no big difference here. With a 3S 650 Tattu Lipo (54 grams) the Lizard95 has a flight duration of 3:30 to 4:30, depending on how hard you take it, which is quite good considering how lively and agile it is. Other racers, who bring less top speed and acceleration, usually only get less than three minutes. The 3S 650s seem to be the ideal fuel for the Lizard.

With the included 3S 550 Lipo from Eachine it flies even more agile (a real pleasure!), but the fun is 30 to 60 seconds shorter then. So if you want to get the last bit of speed out of the Lizzy, you should reach for a 3S 550. If you are heading for a good mix between flight duration and agility, get a 3S 650.

We have also tested 2S 850 Lipos with the Lizard. Contrary to our expectations, they do not offer a longer flight time compared to the 3S 650, but significantly less agility and top speed. Nevertheless: who flies indoors, in the park forest, as a beginner or prefers it slower for some reason, can definitely reach for a 2S Lipo. But the Lizard is clearly designed for 3S. The little one wants to run, not go for a walk!

BatteryWeightFlight DurationAgility
2S 850mAh48g~4 min.Lazy
3S 550mAh45g~3 min.Very high
3S 650mAh54g~4 min.High

Receiver
We have chosen a FrSky receiver. Unfortunately this is directly soldered onto the flight controller. The replacement therefore requires more effort than usual. That’s why we left the installed FrSky 8-channel receiver on it instead of replacing it with a FrSky XM+ as usual – and we were pleasantly surprised. Like the XM+, the receiver supports RSSI and is better than we expected. The reception strength in our test was still about 50% at a distance of 500m. This is absolutely sufficient for a micro racer. Instead of two diversity antennas, it comes with only one antenna, which is a good 20-30cm long. Before the start you should glue it well, so that it can not get into the propellers.

Vibrations?
Some reviews criticized, that the Lizard95 shows some vibrations at full throttle and the engines would run quite hot. However, we cannot confirm this! With Betaflight 3.2.0, the preset PIDs, a 3S 650 Lipo and the 5-blade stock props, it flies just great – not a trace of vibrations, even at full throttle. The engines just get hand-warm, even when you whip the Lizard, like the devil. So it’s all good. For our test we have only activated the dynamic filter in Betaflight. All other settings are set to default.

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike from mars blog gemfan 2035

Gemfan 2035

After 10-15 flights we noticed light vibrations in flight – but this was quickly eliminated by changing the propellers. Apparently the 5-blade props are relatively touchy and should not be bent if possible (so be careful when tinkering around or transporting the quad). A very good and significantly more vibration resistant choice are the Gemfan 2035 4-blade propellers, with which the Lizard95 flies incredibly smooth. The flight time is the same for both the 4-blade and 5-blade props. However: with the enclosed 5-blade props the Lizard has a little bit more punch than with the 4-blade props. It’s not earth-shattering, but noticeable.

Video Transmitter
The VTX was already set to 100mW by default. Channel selection and switching between 25mW and 100mW is done by a small dipswitch on the VTX and is quite simple. A paper note included with the Lizard95 explains how to use the video transmitter.

The reception of the video image is – contrary to our expectations – absolutely solid and showed hardly any dropouts during our test flights. In some reviews the reception was still criticized and speculated whether the carbon side parts, which are supposed to protect the FPV antenna, probably influence the transmission quality. We could not find this out at all – but that the channels of the VTX specified in the manual do not correspond to the actual channels. It may be that some users think they have set the VTX to the right channel because they receive an image in their goggles, but instead they are on an adjacent channel. And this leads to significantly worse video transmission in flight. So make sure you are on the right channel!

The reception is perfect and even much better than many micro and minis that come with a small whip antenna. There is absolutely nothing wrong. The carbon side panels should therefore remain screwed on to protect the antenna. Since these are screwed on, however, they can also be removed without any effort.

Speaking of antennas: the short middle bridge that connects the upper and lower “cloverleaf” of the antenna is very fragile and likes to break. So if you have image dropouts, it may well be that this small bridge has already said goodbye. It happened to us after a short time. This is, assuming a little skill with the soldering iron, relatively easy to repair. This video explains how. Or just replace the Cloverleaf antenna with a whip antenna that can hold out much more.

Any Cons?
So far we are absolutely enthusiastic about this small Porsche – but there are two shortcomings to complain about. Firstly, the poorly placed solder points of the motor cables on the ESC pins. These are so fragile and poorly soldered that three of them went off as we replaced the lipo strap! Before the first flight it is therefore strongly recommended to check the motor cables. Re-solder them by yourself. If you do not like soldering, it is better to secure the contacts or cables at the contacts with a trace of hot glue before flying. Because these cables will certainly be the first to come loose in operation.

The second flaw in the Lizard95 that struck us is once again – who would have guessed it – the FPV camera. Okay, we’ve seen a lot worse here. But for Runcam Micro Swift spoiled eyes, the Lizard95’s stock cam is poles apart. In sunny weather the picture is quite okay, but not very detailed or crisp. Smaller branches and twigs are difficult to see. In addition, the area in the middle of the video image is constantly overexposed, so that there is a bright and somewhat overexposed area around the center. We have also seen a lens mirroring in flight – something we have never seen before with any other FPV cams. The colors itself, however, are well-balanced.

You can fly with the Stock Cam, yes – but more demanding pilots should sooner or later consider to replace it with a Runcam Micro Swift.

Conclusion

As I said – Eachine is usually not one of my favorite brands, so we were quite sceptical about the test. But sometimes you can be mistaken. The Lizard95 flies brilliantly, with 3S it literally goes off like a rocket, binding the receiver was no problem at all and the pre-installed PIDs are great. Apart from the soldering of the motor cables on the ESCs, the workmanship of the Quad looks very solid and well thought-out.

In fact, the Lizard95 Anniversary Edition is one of the few micro racers that doesn’t require much modding and is ready to go just out of the box. A buzzer and an LED strip are already installed. The vibrations with the stock props criticized in some reviews we could not be reproduced in out tests.

Apart from the mediocre camera and the soldering points of the motor cables we can’t say anything bad about the Lizard95. This little quad flies incredibly with 3S and is such a lot of fun. It has also a very unique sound. With the stock props the Lizard “whistles” like the turbocharger of a sports car. It’s fun!

The Lizard95 Anniversary Edition breaks the speed record of all our tested quads so far! With the Lizard95 Anniversary Edition, Eachine has created a true new cult racer that is more fun than both, the Leader 120 and Babyhawk-R – because the Lizard is incredibly fast, incredibly agile, incredibly controllable – and it flies one minute longer than the Leader or the Babyhawk. For the price an absolute recommendation, especially when you consider that you don’t have to do much modding anymore and get a mini rocket out of the box.

Lizard95 Parts:
Eachine Lizard95 Anniversary Version
Eachine Lizard95 Frame Kit
Eachine Lizard95 600TVL FPV Cam
Eachine Lizard95 Minicube
Runcam Micro Swift
VTX03 200mW Mini VTX
Eachine Lizard95 Motor
Gemfan 2035 4-Blade Propeller
Eachine Lizard95 3S 550mAh 40 / 80C Lipo
FPV Antenna (better version!)
2.4GHz Receiver Antenna (FrSky + DSM)

On the next page: Betaflight Setup

View all articles
Articles in this category

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Technik & Reviews

Review: Eachine Lizard95 Micro FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog anniversary edition betaflight blheli_s dshot eachine lizard95 frsky xm+ gemfan 2035 mini fpv racer mods pids review runcam micro swift vtx03
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 19 Minuten  2.639 mal gelesen

EACHINE LIZARD95 ANNIVERSARY EDITION


Inhalt:
Seite 1: Review
Seite 2: Betaflight Setup
Seite 3: Runcam Micro anbringen
Seite 4: Tipps und Mods

 

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog
eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Runcam Micro Mod

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035 eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition betaflight setup led strip mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Runcam Micro Mod

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

Der legendäre KingKong 90GT war der erste Micro Racer, der weltweit zum Hit wurde. Der Lizard95 von Eachine tritt dieses Erbe nun an – und macht sogar einiges besser, kommt er doch mit On-Screen-Display und lässt sich sogar mit 3S fliegen. Hier unser ausführliches Review.

 

Anfang 2017 galt der KingKong 90GT als Sternchen am Micro FPV Racer Himmel – und viele fliegen ihn immer noch. Allerdings hat sich die Technik im letzten Jahr wieder ein Stück weiterentwickelt und wer heute zum KingKong greift, bemerkt sofort das fehlende On-Screen-Display (OSD), das im Flug wertvolle Informationen in die Videobrille zaubert. Auch das der KingKong sich nur mit 2S Lipos fliegen lässt, ist schade. Denn gerade bei dieser kleinen Gewichtsklasse könnte man die Power eines 3S Akkus so richtig ausnutzen.

Und genau hier kommt der Lizard95 ins Spiel – genauer gesagt, die Anniversary Edition. Alle Nachteile des KingKong scheinen mit dem Lizard95 behoben: ein OSD ist nun endlich an Bord, ein Buzzer und ein LED Strip ebenfalls – und 3S Lipos schluckt der Kleine auch. Bei einem Eigengewicht von gerade mal knapp 70 Gramm kann man sich vorstellen, wie der Lizard mit 3S abgeht.

Mit einem 500mAh 3S Lipo wurde der Lizard95 mit der Radarpistole bereits mit 112 km/h gemessen -der Youtuber Alber Kim schaffte es mit leichten Modifikationen sogar auf knapp 160 km/h!! Das zeigt, welches Potential in dieser kleinen, ultraleichten 3S-Rennsemmel steckt.

Ausstattung

Der Eachine Lizard95 ist ein Fliegengewicht mit knapp 70 Gramm und kann sowohl mit 2S, als auch 3SLipos geflogen werden. Die Ausstattung des Lizard ist für einen Micro durchaus passabel:

Der 48-Kanal Videosender lässt sich zwischen 25mW und 100mW umschalten. 200mW wären zwar (auf dem Papier) besser, allerdings würde das bei einem 2S Lipo doch relativ viel Strom ziehen und für einen heissen Videosender sorgen. Bei einem Micro FPV Racer reichen 100mW in der Regel völlig aus, da man mit der kleinen Rennsemmel schliesslich nicht um den halben Globus fliegt.

Die verbaute 600TVL FPV Kamera ist besser, als die des KingKong, kommt allerdings nicht an eine Runcam Micro Swift heran (der Lizard95 lässt sich allerdings problemlos mit einer Runcam Micro und einem VTX03 Videosender umrüsten). Der Videosender und die FPV Kamera sind huckepack zusammengesteckt.

Ein Buzzer ist bereits an Bord. Die Eachine 1104 KV6000 Motoren können mit 2S und 3S Lipos geflogen werden, die BLHELI_S DSHOT600 4-in-1 ESC verkraften einen Peak von bis zu 15 Ampere. Auf dem Omnibus F3 Flight Controller ist laut Datenblatt Betaflight 3.1 vorgeflasht, es sollen aber auch schon Exemplare mit Betaflight 3.2 ausgeliefert worden sein.

Für den Anschluss eines Lipos steht ein XT30 Stecker zur Verfügung. Ein Vorteil für alle, die den Lizard mit 3S fliegen möchten. Wer ihn mit 2S Lipos fliegt (die meist mit einem JST Stecker kommen), kann sich mit wenig Aufwand einen Adapter basteln.

Ein programmierbarer LED Strip ist übrigens bereits angebracht.

Lizard95 Ausstattung:
Flight ControllerOmnibus F3 Betaflight, 20x20mm (M2)
Motors Eachine 1104 6000KV
MCU STM32 F303 MCU
OSD Betaflight OSD
Buzzer ✔️
LED Strip ✔️
ReceiverFrSky D8 / FlySky 8CH / DSMX
ESC BLHeli_S 16.5 15A 4-in-1 DSHOT600
Camera 600TVL
VTX48 Channel 25/200mw
PlugXT30

Unser Eindruck

Tatsächlich haben wir einen Lizard95 bekommen, auf dem bereits Betaflight 3.2.0 vorinstalliert war, also werden derzeit wohl schon die neueren Margen verkauft. Das ist gut. Ich selbst habe mit Eachine bisher gemischte Erfahrungen gemacht, deshalb ging ich recht skeptisch an den Test. Allerdings zeigte sich schon nach wenigen Flügen: der Lizard95 ist ein Speed-Monster und macht – wer hätte das gedacht – wirklich unglaublich viel Spass!

Geschwindigkeit
Ganz klar: der Lizard95 Anniversary Edition ist der schnellste Racer, der uns bisher untergekommen ist. Das kleine Ding geht mit 3S ab, wie ein Tesla! Man hat fast das Gefühl, beim Gas geben in den Sitz gepresst zu werden. So eine krasse Beschleunigung im unteren Drittel habe ich bisher noch bei keinem anderen Micro- und Mini Quad erlebt. Der Lizard95 ist tatsächlich eine kleine Rakete – und zischt sogar noch besser ab, als der Leader 120, mein bisheriger Langzeit-Favorit.

Im Test haben wir den kleinen mit 3S 650er Lipos gepeitscht und hatten einen riesen Spass – die Beschleunigung, die Leichtigkeit, die Endgeschwindigkeit – der Lizard95 fliegt sich einfach bemerkenswert genial. Nimmt man statt der 650er Lipos den beiliegenden 3S 550er Lipo, der noch etwas weniger Gewicht mitbringt, setzt der Lizard sogar noch einen drauf. So macht es einfach Spaß, den kleinen durch den Himmel zu peitschen. Solch eine Spritzigkeit haben wir bisher noch bei keinem Micro Quad erlebt und hier schlägt der Lizard95 sogar noch den Leader 120 deutlich. Wahnsinn.

Flugzeit
Die gemessenen Flugzeiten waren sowohl mit den beiliegenden 5-Blatt Propellern, als auch den Gemfan 2035 4-Blatt Props gleich, hier gibt es keinen grossen Unterschied. Mit einem 3S 650er Tattu Lipo (54 Gramm) kommt der Lizard95, je nachdem, wie hart man ihn ran nimmt, auf eine Flugzeit von ca. 3:30 bis 4:30. Das ist gut, wenn man bedenkt, wie spritzig und agil er unterwegs ist. Andere Racer, die weniger Top Speed und Beschleunigung mitbringen, kommen hier meist nur auf knappe drei Minuten. Die 3S 650er scheinen also der ideale Treibstoff für den Lizard zu sein.

Mit dem beiliegenden 3S 550er Lipo von Eachine fliegt es sich zwar noch spritziger (eine wahre Freude!), dafür ist der Flugspass aber auch 30 bis 60 Sekunden kürzer. Wer also noch das letzte bisschen Speed aus dem Lizzy herauskitzeln möchte, sollte zu einem 3S 550er greifen.

Auch 2S 850er Lipo haben wir mit dem Lizard getestet. Entgegen unseren Erwartungen bieten diese keine längere Flugzeit im Vergleich zum 3S 650er, dafür aber deutlich weniger Agilität und Top Speed. Dennoch: wer indoor fliegt, im Parkwald, Anfänger ist oder es lieber gemütlich hat, kann durchaus zu einem 2S Lipo greifen. Ausgelegt ist der Lizard aber ganz klar für 3S. Der Kleine möchte rennen, nicht spazierengehen, das merkt man ihm an.

LipoGewichtFlugzeitAgilität
2S 850mAh48g~4 Min.Gemütlich
3S 550mAh45g~3 Min.Sehr hoch
3S 650mAh54g~4 Min.Hoch

Empfänger
Wir haben uns für einen FrSky Empfänger entschieden. Dieser ist leider fest auf dem Flight Controller aufgelötet. Der Austausch erfordert also mehr Aufwand, als normalerweise. Deshalb haben wir den installierten FrSky 8-Kanal Empfänger erst mal drauf gelassen, anstatt ihn, wie üblich, gegen einen FrSky XM+ zu wechseln – und waren auch hier postitiv überrascht. Der Empfänger unterstützt, wie der XM+ auch, RSSI und ist besser, als erwartet. Die Empfangsstärke lag in unserem Test bei einer Distanz von 500m immer noch bei ca. 50%. Das ist für einen Micro Racer absolut ausreichend. Statt zwei Diversity Antennen kommt er nur mit einer Antenne, diese aber gute 20-30cm lang. Vor dem Start sollte man diese unbedingt gut verkleben, so das sie nicht in die Propeller geraten kann.

Vibrationen?
In manchen Reviews wurde bemängelt, daß der Lizard95 bei Vollgas deutliche Vibrationen zeigt und die Motoren recht heiss laufen. Das allerdings können wir nicht bestätigen! Mit Betaflight 3.2.0, den voreingestellten PIDs, einem 3S 650er Lipo und den 5-Blatt Stock Props fliegt er sich wunderbar – von Vibrationen keine Spur, auch nicht unter Vollgas. Auch die Motoren werden gerade mal handwarm, selbst wenn man den Lizard peitscht, wie den Teufel selbst. Also alles paletti. Für unseren Test haben wir lediglich den Dynamischen Filter in Betaflight aktiviert. Alle anderen Einstellungen sind auf default.

eachine lizard95 mini micro fpv racer racing review lizard mods modding pids runcam micro vtx03 2S 3S replacement props hints tricks tipps01 anniversary edition mike vom mars blog gemfan 2035

Gemfan 2035

Erst nach 10-15 Flügen konnten wir im Flug leichte Vibrationen feststellen – was aber durch einen Wechsel der Propeller schnell behoben war. Anscheinend sind die 5-Blatt Props relativ anfällig und sollten nach Möglichkeit nicht verbogen werden (deshalb etwas aufpassen beim Basteln und Transport). Eine sehr gute Wahl und deutlich Vibrationsresistenter sind die Gemfan 2035 4-Blade Propeller, mit denen der Lizard95 unglaublich smooth fliegt. Die Flugzeit ist sowohl bei den 4-Blatt, als auch den 5-Blatt Props gleich. Allerdings: mit den beiliegenden 5-Blatt Props hat der Lizard ein wenig mehr Punch, als mit 4-Blatt. Das ist nicht weltbewegend, aber doch bemerkbar.

Videosender
Der VTX war schon von Werk aus auf 100mW eingestellt. Die Kanalwahl, sowie das Umstellen zwischen 25mW und 100mW geschieht mittels eines kleines Dip-Schalters auf dem VTX und ist recht simpel. Ein kleiner Merkzettel, der dem Lizard95 beiliegt, erklärt die Bedienung des Videosenders.

Der Empfang des Videobilds ist – entgegen unseren Erwartungen – absolut solide und zeigte bei unseren Testflügen kaum Aussetzer. In einigen Reviews wurde der Empfang noch bemängelt und spekuliert, ob die Carbon-Seitenteile, die die FPV Antenne schützen sollen, wohl die Sendequalität beeinflussen. Das konnten wir absolut nicht feststellen – wohl aber, daß die in der Anleitung angegebenen Kanäle des VTX nicht mit den tatsächlichen übereinstimmen. Es kann also sein, das mancher Nutzer meint, den VTX auf den richtigen Kanal gestellt zu haben, weil er in der Brille ein Bild empfängt, ist stattdessen aber auf einem Nachbarkanal. Und das führt im Flug dann zu deutlich mehr Aussetzern. Stellt also auf jeden Fall sicher, daß ihr auf dem richtigen Kanal seid.

Der Empfang ist auf dem richtigen Kanal einwandfrei und sogar deutlich besser, als bei vielen Micros- und Minis mit Whip Antenne. Von dem her ist absolut nichts auszusetzen. Die Carbon-Seitenteile sollten also zum Schutz der Antenne auf jeden Fall angeschraubt bleiben. Da diese aber angeschraubt sind, lassen sie sich auch ohne Aufwand entfernen.

Apropos Antenne: der kurze Mittelsteg, der das untere und obere „Kleeblatt“ der Antenne miteinander verbindet, ist sehr fragil und bricht gerne. Wenn man also Bildaussetzer hat, kann es durchaus sein, das sich dieser kleine Steg bereits verabschiedet hat. Uns ist das bereits nach kurzer Zeit passiert. Dieser ist, ein wenig Geschicklichkeit mit dem Lötkolben vorausgesetzt, relativ simpel zu reparieren. Dieses Video erklärt, wie das geht. Oder man ersetzt die Cloverleaf Antenne gleich gegen eine Peitschenantenne, die wesentlich mehr einstecken kann.

Mankos
Bisher sind wir von dem kleinen Blitz absolut begeistert – zwei Mankos gibt es allerdings zu beanstanden. Zum einen die schlecht gesetzten Lötpunkte der Motorkabel an den ESC-Pins. Diese sind derart fragil und schlecht verlötet, das sich bereits beim Austauschen des Lipogurts drei davon gelöst haben! Vor dem ersten Flug ist also dringend anzuraten, die Motorkabel zu checken bzw. diese selbst noch einmal anzulöten. Das geht recht fix, da man ohne zu Schrauben von aussen sehr gut an die Kontakte kommt. Es reicht, die Props dafür abzunehmen.

Wer nicht gerne lötet, sollte die Kontakte bzw. Kabel an den Kontakten vor dem Fliegen lieber mit einer Spur Heisskleber sichern. Denn diese Kabel werden sicherlich das erste sein, was sich im Betrieb löst.

Das zweite Manko am Lizard95, das uns aufgefallen ist, ist wieder einmal – wer hätte es geahnt – die FPV Kamera. Okay, wir haben hier schon viel, viel schlechtere gesehen und bei sonnigem Wetter ist sie durchaus brauchbar, wenn auch detailarm. Kleinere Äste und Zweige sind nur schwer zu erkennen. Man kann mit der Stock Cam fliegen, ja – aber anspruchsvollere Piloten sollten früher oder später den Einbau einer Runcam Micro Swift erwägen.

Fazit

Wie gesagt – Eachine zählt normalerweise nicht zu meinen Lieblingsmarken, deshalb gingen wir auch recht skeptisch an den Test. Aber so kann man sich täuschen – der Lizard95 fliegt sich genial, er geht wortwörtlich (unter 3s) ab, wie eine Rakete, das Binden ging problemlos und schnell und die voreingestellten PIDs sind prima. Die Verarbeitung des Quads wirkt, bis auf die Verlötung der Motorkabel an den ESCs, sehr solide und durchdacht.

Tatsächlich ist der Lizard95 Anniversary Edition einer der wenigen Micro Racer, bei denen man eigentlich gar nicht mehr viel modden muss und sofort loslegen kann. Ein Buzzer, sowie ein LED Strip sind bereits installiert. Die in einigen Reviews bemängelten Vibrationen mit den Stock Props konnten wir bisher nicht nachvollziehen.

Ausser der mittelmässigen Kamera und den nachbesserungswürdigen Lötpunkten der Motorkabel können wir nichts schlechtes über den Lizard95 sagen. Der kleine zischt unglaublich ab (unter 3S) und macht wahnsinnig viel Spass. Tatsächlich ertappt man sich dabei, daß man trotz umfangreicher Racersammlung immer wieder zum Lizard greift, weil dieser einfach am meisten Spaß macht. Kaum ein Mini Racer bisher kam mit solch einem Funfaktor, wie der Lizard. Es ist einfach die pure Freude, den kleinen durch die Gegend zu peitschen! Der unglaubliche Speed erinnert an manche Konsolen-Rennspiele, die die eigenen Reflexe fordern. Das macht wahnsinnig Laune! Auch der tolle Sound trägt dazu bei – mit den Stock Props „pfeift“ der Lizard ein wenig, wie der Turbolader eines Mini-Sportwagens.

Der Lizard95 Anniversary Edition bricht den Geschwindigkeitsrekord all unserer bisher getesteten Quads! Mit dem Lizard95 Anniversary Edition hat Eachine einen wahren neuen Kultracer geschaffen, der mehr Spaß macht, als der Leader 120 und Babyhawk-R zusammen – weil der Lizard einfach unglaublich schnell ist, wahnsinnig agil, unglaublich gut steuerbar – und zudem noch eine Minute länger fliegt als der Leader oder der Babyhawk. Für den Preis eine absolute Empfehlung, vor allem wenn man bedenkt, daß man hier eigentlich gar nicht mehr viel basteln oder modden muss und quasi out of the box eine Mini-Rakete bekommt.

Lizard95 Zubehör:
Eachine Lizard95 Anniversary Version
Eachine Lizard95 Frame Kit
Eachine Lizard95 600TVL FPV Cam
Eachine Lizard95 Minicube
Runcam Micro Swift
VTX03 200mW Mini VTX
Eachine Lizard95 Motor
Gemfan 2035 4-Blade Propeller
Eachine Lizard95 3S 550mAh 40 / 80C Lipo
FPV Ersatzantenne (bessere Version)
2.4GHz Empfänger Ersatzantenne (FrSky + DSM)

Auf der nächsten Seite: Betaflight Setup

Alle Artikel
Diese Kategorie

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *