Tech Stuff & Reviews

Review: Walkera Rodeo 110 Mini Racing Quad

Mike vom Mars Blog fpv racing kingkong 90gt mini drone mini fpv multicopter quadcopter racing drone racing quad review rodeo 110 test walkera f210 walkera rodeo 110
 
Estimated reading time: 18 minutes  Viewed 7.951 times

2017 is the year of the mini FPV racers: they fly better and more precise due to the lower mass, are cheaper to purchase and maintain, crashes have less dramatic consequences, spare parts are relatively cheap and they are handy and transportable. And they do not fall under law restrictions with their weight below 250 grams.

 

Walkera Rodeo 110 Mini FPV Racer

test review walkera rodeo 110 mini fpv micro racer mini racer multicopter multikopter drohne mini fpv racing mike-vom-mars blog

 

Main Features
5800KV Brushless motors
600 TVL 40-channel 25mW / 200mW FPV camera
OneShot125 ESCs
Screwed 3-blade racing propellers
Power supply: 2S / 3S
Weight: 148g (including battery)
CleanFlight pre-flashed
Beeper installed
Ultra stable body
Modular design (no wires)
Includes: 1x 2S 850mAh Lipo, charger, 8x propellers

 


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.

 

Useful Links
Walkera Rodeo 110 at Banggood
1000TVL FPV Camera
Mobius Mini HD Action Cam (110 Deg. FOV)
Mobius Mini HD Action Cam (135 Deg. FOV)
Mini Cloverleaf Antenna (no soldering required)
Thingiverse: Protection Cap for Mini Cloverleaf Antenna
Thingiverse: Mobius Mini Mount for Rodeo 110

Impressions

Compared with the smaller KingKong 90GT (ca. 80g) the Rodeo 110 clearly seems to be more robust – but at the cost of more weight, of course. As with the F210, the guts of the quad are extremely well protected and housed in a stable body. Just unscrew the cover plate under the battery and you have access to all important parts: the video transmitter, the flight controller and the plug to which the camera is connected. As with most Walkera quads, all electronic components are modularly plugged together and not soldered or wired. Therefore you can’t find any cables inside – this saves weight and looks very clean and tidy. Even the ESCs are plugged and not soldered. Thus, changing them takes only seconds and does not require a soldering iron. That’s the way it has to be!

The Rodeo has a bright, white front LED and two status LEDs on the sides. The two diversity radio antennas are not rigid, as in the case of the F210, rigid but flexible. The Rodeo has four landing skids and the frame also makes a very stable and indestructible impression. Combined with the low mass of the quad the Rodeo is hardly destructible.

Due to the built-in beeper (which can be triggered via the transmitter if configured correctly in BetaFlight / CleanFlight) you’ll dramatically increase your chances to find the Rodeo in higher grass after a crash. A properly installed beeper / model finder is a must for each mini / micro quad. Never go without one or you’ll lose it right on the first day, believe me.

Propellers

The sturdy 3-blade racing props are pinned up and additionally attached with two small cross-head screws. The props are extremely stable and easily survive a couple of crashes or hard landings. Since the fastening screws of the Props are located a little deep in the propeller, you need a small cross-screw screwdriver with very thin shaft (diameter max 2.4mm). Unfortunately, I could not find out what pitch the propeller blades have, which would be useful to look for cheap alternatives or 4-blade or even 5-blade props. As soon as I have found suitable replacement props, I’ll let you know.

Camera

Antenna mod: Banggood now offers Mini-Cloverleaf Antennas that fit perfectly on the Rodeo. It’s very affordable and remarkably improves the strength of the video signal. Since it comes with a snap-on plug, there is no soldering needed. Replacing the antenna just takes a couple of minutes. Since the upper part of the antenna is quite fragile, I designed a small, lightweighted cap to protect it. Download the .stl file here and print it with your 3D printer.

The 600TVL FPV camera is stepless tiltable and held by two cross-head screws. As with the F210, camera and lens are protected by a stable hood. Unfortunately, there is a trend of many manufacturers to save on the camera. The image quality of the original Rodeo cam is one of the worst I’ve seen so far: the picture is washed out, the cam is unable to handle sudden light / dark changes, and it happens during loops and rolls again and again that the ground suddenly becomes a single black surface.

But thank goodness there is a useful and cheap alternative: the 1000TVL from Banggood. This camera is available for 10 EUR only, fits perfectly into the Rodeo’s camera holder and offers a very sharp picture with brilliant colors and a far better light / darkness handling. Last but not least, the 1000TVL offers an awesome 170 degrees FOV which is by far more than the original cam provides. Replacing the original Rodeo cam with the 1000TVL is one of the first things one should do!

The 40 channel video transmitter comes in two flavors: a CE version with 25mW, as well as an FCC version with 200mW. The FCC version of the Rodeo is recognizable by a small white sticker at the bottom, lettered ‘TX5836’. But the 25mW version can also be ‘upgraded’ to 200mW by simply pressing the small button on the video transmitter for 30 seconds. If you press the button for 30 seconds and then quickly twice, the frequency band can be changed. The channel itself is set with three small jumpers (a table of frequencies and switch positions is found in the Rodeo’s manual).

Rodeo original camera compared with the Banggood 1000TVL:

Batteries

The Rodeo comes with Walkera 2S Lipo with 850mAh, which only weighs 47 grams. As usual, the original Walkera batteries bring the best performance from all tested Lipo’s so far. All experiments with SLS and other lipos resulted in lower flight times. Only the affordable 2S 850mAh from Hobbyking came quite near to the original Walkera batteries, which is surprising since the Hobbyking Lipo’s cost about only a third of the Walkera Lipo’s.

The batteries are connected to a JST plug on the quad, which is probably a bit critical, as it takes a little fiddling without the proper technique to loosen the plugs. I had no problems here, however. The advantage of the JST plug is that the battery could not be easily lost or disconnected during a flight or in case of a crash.

Receiver

The Rodeo comes with a Walkera receiver and is compatible with all Devo series remote controls. The binding went completely without problems. It is recommended to assign a fixed ID between the Rodeo and the transmitter.

Like all my Copter (also the non-Walkeras) I fly the Rodeo with my Devo 10, on which the Deviation firmware is installed.

If you are using another TX (FrSky Taranis etc.) you can also add a receiver of your choice. This is quite simple. Here’s how it works.

Flight Characteristics

In the last weeks, I enjoyed flying my KingKong 90GT very much. The Kong is a micro racer, while the slightly bigger Rodeo 110 already occupies the ‘mini’ class. Because of the lightweight mass, the KingKong flies like on rails – and also does the Rodeo – although you can feel the higher weight. The 5800KV brushless motors offer lots of power (in relation to their tiny form factor). I was totally surprised about the end speed the Rodeo offers, which is even more than it’s big brother, the F210. With the camera tilt all the way up, this quad is a bullet!

The Rodeo is easy to handle in mid-air. As with all my racers I flashed BetaFlight version 3.1.6 on it. I’ve borrowed the PIDs from nVentor ( see here ), but also the BetaFlight default PIDs should do very well here. I prefer very high rates to have an ultra-responsive stick handling, but this is a matter of taste.

Next page: Sink or swim – what’s our final impression on the Walkera Rodeo 110?

View all articles
Articles in this category

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tests & Reviews

Review: Walkera Rodeo 110 Mini FPV Racer

Mike vom Mars Blog fpv racing kingkong 90gt mini drone mini fpv multicopter quadcopter racing drone racing quad review rodeo 110 test walkera f210 walkera rodeo 110
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 8 Minuten

2017 ist das Jahr der Mini FPV Racer: sie fliegen sich aufgrund der geringen Masse besser und schnittiger, sind günstiger in der Anschaffung, bei einem Crash geht kaum etwas kaputt, Ersatzteile sind relativ günstig und sie sind handlich und transportabel. Sie fallen mit ihrem Gewicht unter 250g nicht unter die Kennzeichnungspflicht und dürfen bis zu einer Höhe von 30 Metern auch ohne Spotter (Begleitperson) per Videobrille geflogen werden.

 

Walkera Rodeo 110 Mini FPV Racer

test review walkera rodeo 110 mini fpv micro racer mini racer multicopter multikopter drohne mini fpv racing mike-vom-mars blog

 

Features auf einen Blick
5800KV Brushless Motoren
600 TVL 40-Kanal 25mW / 200mW FPV Kamera
OneShot125 ESCs
Geschraubte 3-Blatt Racing Propeller
Stromversorgung: 2S oder 3S
Gewicht: 148g (mit Akku)
CleanFlight vorgeflasht
Beeper vorhanden
Stabiler Rahmen
Modulare Bauert (keine Kabel)
Zubehör: 1x 2S 850mAh Lipo, Ladegerät, 4x Ersatzpropeller

 

Achtung Schnäppchenjäger: momentan (Juni 2017) ist der Rodeo bei Banggood noch mit 20% Rabatt zu haben – also ab 120 EUR (Normalpreis in DE: 195 EUR)! Allerdings sollte man sich beeilen, da nur noch wenige Coupons verfügbar sind! Auch ohne Rabatt ist er bei Banggood deutlich günstiger zu kaufen, als hier in DE.

 

Nützliche Links
Walkera Rodeo 110 bei Banggood
1000TVL FPV Kamera
Mobius Mini HD Action Cam (110 Grad FOV)
Mobius Mini HD Action Cam (135 Grad FOV)

Eindrücke

Im Vergleich zum kleineren KingKong 90GT (ca. 80g) wirkt der Rodeo deutlich robuster – bringt aber auch mehr Gewicht mit. Wie schon beim F210, sind die Innereien des Quads extrem gut geschützt und im geschlossenen Gehäuse untergebracht. Man schraubt lediglich die Abdeckplatte unter dem Akku auf und hat Zugang zu allen wichtigen Teilen: dem Videosender, dem Flightcontroller und dem Stecker, mit dem die Kamera angeschlossen ist. Sämtliche elektronischen Komponenten sind, wie bei Walkera üblich, modular aneinander gesteckt und nicht verlötet oder verkabelt. Man sieht deshalb so gut wie keine Kabel im Inneren – das spart Gewicht und ist schön übersichtlich. Selbst die ESC sind gesteckt und nicht gelötet. Ein Wechsel der Regler dauert also nur Sekunden und benötigt keinen Lötkolben. So muss das sein!

Der Rodeo verfügt über eine helle, weisse Front-LED und zwei Status LEDs seitlich. Die beiden Diversity-Funkantennen sind nicht, wie noch beim F210, starr (weshalb sie bei diesem gerne abbrechen), sondern flexibel. Der Rodeo verfügt über vier Landebeine und der Rahmen macht ebenfalls einen sehr stabilen und unverwüstlichen Eindruck. Auf die geringe Masse des Rodeo heruntergerechnet müsste er fast unverwüstlich sein, so lange man nicht volldampf gegen eine Betonwand fliegt.

Durch den verbauten Beeper (den man sich auf einen Schalter der Funke legen kann) findet man ihn im hohen Gras recht einfach wieder – keine Selbstverständlichkeit, da viele Hersteller hier mittlerweile mit einem Beeper geizen!

Propeller

Die stabilen 3-Blatt Racing Props werden aufgesteckt und zusätzlich noch jeweils mit zwei kleinen Kreuzschlitzschrauben befestigt. Die Props wirken überaus stabil und halten einige Abstürze locker aus. Da die Befestigungsschrauben der Props allerdings etwas tief im Propeller liegen, benötigt man einen kleinen Kreuzschraubenzieher mit sehr dünnem Schaft (Durchmesser max 2.4mm). Sehr gut passt hier der Kreuzschraubendreher von Wera 118020 PH 00 (im Bauhaus). Leider habe ich noch nicht in Erfahrung bringen können, welche Steigung die Propellerblätter haben, was nützlich wäre, um sich nach günstigen Alternativen oder 4-Blatt oder gar 5-Blatt Props umzusehen. Sobald ich passende Ersatzprops gefunden habe, lasse ich es euch wissen.

Kamera

Die 600TVL FPV Kamera ist stufenlos neigbar und wird durch zwei Kreuzschlitzschrauben festgehalten. Je strenger man diese anzieht, desto fester sitzt die Kamera, die durch eine stabile Haube geschützt ist. Leider bemerkt man auch hier den Trend vieler Hersteller, bei der Kamera zu sparen. Die Bildqualität der original Rodeo Cam ist die schlechteste, die mir bisher in meiner Laufbahn untergekommen ist: das Bild ist verwaschen, Hell- / Dunkelwechsel verkraftet die Cam kaum und bei Loops und Rolls passiert es immer wieder, das der Boden plötzlich eine einzige schwarze Fläche ist.

Gottseidank gibt es hier einen brauchbaren Ersatz: die 1000TVL von Banggood ist für knapp über 10 EUR erhältlich, passt perfekt in das Kameragehäuse des Rodeo, bietet ein grösseres Blickfeld, ein scharfes Bild und brillante Farben. Die original Cam durch die 1000TVL zu ersetzen ist also das erste, was man tun sollte!

Der 40-Kanal Videosender kommt in zwei Varianten: einer CE Version mit 25mW, sowie einer FCC Version mit 200mW. Die FCC Version des Rodeo erkennt man an einem kleinen weissen Aufkleber an der Unterseite, auf dem TX5836 steht. Aber auch die 25mW Version lässt sich auf 200mW hochschrauben, indem man 30 Sekunden lang den kleinen Button auf dem Videosender drückt. Drückt man zuerst 30 Sekunden auf den Button und dann jeweils 2x kurz, lässt sich das Frequenzband wechseln. Der Kanal selbst wird mit drei kleinen Switches eingestellt (eine Tabelle der Frequenzen und Schalterstellungen liegt dem Rodeo bei).

Unterschied Originalkamera / 1000TVL:

Akkus

Dem Rodeo liegt ein Walkera 2S Lipo mit 850mAh bei, der gerade mal 47 Gramm wiegt. Wie gewohnt, bringen die original Walkera Akkus von allen hier die beste Leistung. Sämtliche Experimente mit SLS und anderen Lipos haben geringere Flugzeiten ergeben. Lediglich die günstigen 2S 850mAh von Hobbyking kommen bisher an die Original-Akkus ran und kosten mit grade mal 6 EUR / Stück nur halb so viel. Was allerdings die Lebensdauer angeht, werden die original Walkera Akkus aber wohl besser abschneiden.

Die Akkus werden an einem JST Stecker angeschlossen, was manche wohl kritisch sehen dürften, da es ohne die richtige Technik ein wenig Fummelei braucht, um die Stecker zu lösen. Ich wackle beim Rausziehen immer etwas hin- und her und habe hier keine Probleme. Vorteil des JST ist aber auch, das sich der Akku im Flug bzw. bei einem Crash garantiert nicht löst.

Empfänger

Der Rodeo verfügt über einen Walkera Empfänger und ist mit allen Fernsteuerungen der Devo – Reihe kompatibel. Das Binden ging völlig problemlos. Es wird empfohlen, eine feste ID in der Funke für den Rodeo zu vergeben, das verkürzt den Bindevorgang, wie immer, deutlich.

Wie alle meine Kopter (auch die Nicht-Walkeras) fliege ich den Rodeo mit meiner Devo 10, auf der die Deviation Firmware installiert ist.

Wer bereits eine eigene Funke hat (FrSky Taranis etc.) kann auch einen eigenen Empfänger seiner Wahl in den Rodeo verbauen. Das ist recht simpel. Wie das geht, wird in diesem Video sehr gut erklärt.

Flugeigenschaften

Zugegeben: ich bin hier nicht sehr neutral, da ich in letzter Zeit sehr oft mit dem KingKong 90GT Micro Racer fliege, der ja über fast kein Gewicht und somit kaum Masse verfügt. Dadurch fliegt sich der Kong wie auf Schienen. Im Vergleich zum Kong merkt man beim Fliegen des Rodeo dann schon, das er ein wenig mehr wiegt, klar. Das Schienen-Gefühl ist noch da, aber nicht mehr so deutlich wie beim Kong. Dafür entwickeln die Motoren des Rodeo aber eine ordentliche Power – ich war wirklich überrascht, wie schnell er mit Kamera am Anschlag ist. Der Speed des Rodeo kommt mir fast noch einen Ticken schneller vor, als der seines grossen Bruders (F210). Um das auszureizen, muss man die Kamera natürlich nach oben auf Anschlag stellen. Dann ist der Rodeo fast schon ein kleines Geschoss!

Steuern lässt er sich sehr gut – wie bei all meinen Racern habe ich mom. BetaFlight Version 3.1.6 geflasht. Die PIDs habe ich mir von nVentor geborgt (siehe hier), aber auch die BetaFlight Standard PIDs sollten sich hier sehr gut machen. Die Rates stelle ich gerne sehr hoch, so das die Steuerung ultra-responsiv ist. Und das kommt beim Rodeo sehr gut rüber.

Auf der nächsten Seite: Top oder Flop? Unser Fazit und Bilder zum Walkera Rodeo 110.

Alle Artikel
Diese Kategorie

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5





Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *