Photography

Review: ND Filter Set for Osmo Pocket

Mike vom Mars Blog comparison dji osmo freewell nd filter set osmo osmo pocket pol-filter polarized filter review sunnylife vergleich
 
Estimated reading time: 16 minutes  Viewed 3.605 times

Neutral Density (short: “ND”) and polarized filters are an indispensable tool – not only for professionals, but also for amateur filmmakers. How do such filters work? How do you use them? And is the inexpensive Sunnylife filter set for the Osmo Pocket worth its money? Here’s the review.


Review: Sunnylife ND Filter Set for Osmo Pocket


Content:
Page 1: What are ND- and Pol Filters good for?
Page 2: Sunnylife Filter Set for Osmo Pocket

freewell nd filter set sunnylife osmo pocket polarized filter pol review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog

 

Neutral density (ND) and polarized filters offer great possibilities to shoot impressive photos, or “cine-like” videos. There already are various filter sets available for the Osmo Pocket from various manufacturers (priced EUR 100 or more) but if you don’t want to spend big money for the little Osmo, it makes sense to try the inexpensive filter set from Sunnylife, which are sold at Banggood for moderate 35 EUR.

The Sunnylife filter set contains six different filters: two ND4, two ND8 and two ND16 – each in a normal and a polarized version. So the set actually covers all the filters you need in most cases. Only a ND32 is missing here, but that’s definitely acceptable for the very reasonable price.

Before we take a closer look at the set on the next page, here’s a (short) summary of the effect and use of ND- and pole filters:


Exclusive Banggood Coupon Codes

▪ For our readers we have received exclusive discount coupon codes from Banggood, with which you can save up to 25% when buying Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers and accessories such as Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, antennas, etc. You can find these coupons on our coupons page. This section is constantly updated, so check back often.

How do ND- and Pol filters work?

 

ND Filter


ND (Neutral Density) filters act like sunglasses – blocking or reducing the light that enters the camera lens. To prevent the picture from becoming underexposed, i.e. too dark, the camera is forced to increase the exposure time. And with a longer exposure time you can generate great effects, especially with moving subjects such as waterfalls, streams, passing clouds, etc. So generally, with an ND filter you can extend the exposure time of the camera.

If one would try the exposure time without usin an ND filter, the image would be overexposed in the end, especially in sunshine. The longer the shutter of the camera remains open, the more light falls on the image sensor and the brighter the image becomes. With high ND filters you can achieve long exposure times – and great photo effects – even in sunshine.

A very good example is the motif of a waterfall: in sunny weather the camera selects a very, very short exposure time in automatic mode so that the image is not overexposed. Due to this short exposure time, one sees every single drop on the finished image of the waterfall – as if one had simply stopped the time. This, however, completely loses the naturalness of the motif, its dynamics. If you now use a ND filter (which forces a long exposure time) the difference is dramatic: the waterfall looks “soft”, single drops blur to a fog or long streaks of water.

ND filters are also advantageous for filming videos. For example, if you film at 60 FPS and then look at the individual frames of the video, you will see that moving objects look razor sharp. However, this does not correspond to the viewing habits of the human eye. The eye expects moving objects to “blur” a bit. And exactly this motion blur can be created when filming with ND filters. This gives the video a “cine-look” style – because in cinema movies you can also see that moving objects appear blurred when you look at individual frames – the stronger, the faster the movement of the object is.

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Motion blur effect with ND filter

 

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Left without, right with ND filter and long exposure time

 

Polarized Filters


Polarized (or “pol” for short) filters work very much like ND filters – but they also have an additional advantage: they block light rays that fall from a certain direction. In plain language: they can be used to reduce or even completely eliminate reflections on shiny surfaces.

Anyone who has ever photographed a shop window, the surface of a calm lake or the windshield of a car faced that problem: the surface reflects light so strongly that it is no longer possible to see what is behind (or below) it. These reflections can be removed using polarized filters. The results, in some cases, almost look like magic.

Reflections are produced by light that bounces off surfaces and hits the camera from different directions (angles). Since polarized filters can only eliminate light of a certain polarization (i.e. from a certain angle), those filters usually have a rotatable attachment. By rotating this attachment you can block light from a certain direction. In practice: you rotate the attachment until the unwanted reflection has been eliminated as much as possible. Since the Osmo Pocket allows you to control the image via the display or the app at any time, it is quite easy to find the right angle here.

Polarized filters can be used for photography as well as for filming and are always an advantage when you want to make reflections disappear. But pol filters also offer another advantage: they increase the intensity of colors. As soon as light from a certain direction is eliminated, the diffuse light thrown onto the camera by a motif is amplified. The result: the ambient colors now appear much more intense. The green of the vegetation appears stronger, the blue of the sky deeper and the colour of flowers more intense.

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Left image without, right one shot with polarized filter

 

ND filters and polarized filters are therefore almost indispensable tools when photographing and filming and it is definitely worth to always have a set – or at least the most necessary filters – with you. The Sunnylife filters for the Osmo Pocket are in particular very easy to use as we will see on the next page.

On the next page: the Sunnylife Filter Set for the Osmo Pocket.

DJI Osmo Pocket & Filter Set:
DJI Osmo Pocket 10% Off - Code: DOP10
ND Filter Set for Osmo Pocket
View all articles
Articles in this category

 
Editor rating: 4.5 / 5




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Photographie

Review: ND Filter Set für Osmo Pocket

Mike vom Mars Blog comparison dji osmo freewell nd filter set osmo osmo pocket pol-filter polarized filter review sunnylife vergleich
 
Geschätzte Lesedauer: 16 Minuten  987 mal gelesen

Neutral Density (kurz: „ND“) und polarisierte Filter sind ein unverzichtbares Hilfsmittel – nicht nur für den Profi, sondern auch für Hobbyfilmer. Wie funktionieren solche Filter? Wie benutzt man sie? Und was taugt das günstige Filter Set von Sunnylife für den Osmo Pocket? Diese Fragen klärt unser Review.


Review: Sunnylife ND Filter Set für Osmo Pocket


Inhalt:
Seite 1: Wie funktionieren ND- und Pol-Filter?
Seite 2: Sunnylife Filter Set für Osmo Pocket

freewell nd filter set sunnylife osmo pocket polarized filter pol review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog

 

Sog. Neutral Densitiy- und polarisierte Filter bieten tolle Möglichkeiten, eindrucksvolle Fotos zu knipsen oder Videos im populären „Kino-Look“ zu filmen. Auch für den Osmo Pocket gibt es mittlerweile Filter Sets oder einzelne Filter von diversen Herstellern. Da aber nicht jeder gleich satte 130 EUR für ein Filterset von Freewell ausgeben möchte, haben wir uns mal das günstige Set von Sunnylife angesehen, das es bei Banggood schon für moderate 35 EUR gibt.

Im Filterset von Sunnylife sind sechs verschiedene Filter enthalten: zwei ND4, zwei ND8 und zwei ND16 – alle jeweils in einer normalen und einer polarisierten Version. Somit deckt das Set eigentlich alle Filter ab, die man im Alltag benötigt. Lediglich einen ND32 vermisst man hier, aber das lässt sich für den sehr günstigen Preis auf jeden Fall verschmerzen.

Bevor wir das Set auf der nächsten Seite unter die Lupe nehmen, erst einmal eine (kurze) Erklärung zur Wirkung und Verwendung von ND- und Pol-Filtern:


Exklusive Banggood Rabatt Codes

▪ Für unsere Leser haben wir von Banggood exklusive Rabatt Coupon Codes bekommen, mit denen ihr beim Kauf von Mavic, Spark, Mini FPV Racers und Zubehör wie Runcam Split, FrSky XLITE, Antennen usw. bis zu 25% sparen könnt. Diese Coupons findet ihr auf unserer Coupon Seite. Diese wird ständig aktualisiert, also schaut öfter dort vorbei.

Wie funktionieren Filter?

 

ND Filter


ND (Neutral Density) Filter wirken quasi wie eine Sonnenbrille – sie blockieren bzw. vermindern das in die Kameralinse einfallende Licht. Damit das Motiv dann aber nicht unterbelichtet, also zu dunkel wird, ist die Kamera (im Automatikmodus) gezwungen, die Belichtungszeit zu erhöhen. Und mit einer längeren Belichtungszeit lassen sich tolle Effekte generieren, vor allem bei bewegten Motiven wie z.B. Wasserfällen, Bächen, vorbeiziehende Wolken usw. Mit einem ND Filter kann man also die Belichtungszeit der Kamera verlängern.

Würde man die Belichtungszeit ohne ND Filter versuchen, wäre das Bild im Endeffekt überbelichtet, also viel zu hell – vor allem bei Sonnenschein. Denn je länger der Verschluss der Kamera geöffnet bleibt, desto mehr Licht fällt auf den Bildsensor und desto heller wird das Bild. Mit hohen ND Filtern lassen sich also selbst bei Sonnenschein lange Belichtungszeiten – und damit tolle Fotoeffekte – erreichen.

Ein sehr gutes Beispiel ist das Motiv eines Wasserfalls: bei sonnigem Wetter wählt die Kamera im Automatikmodus eine sehr, sehr kurze Belichtunszeit, damit das Bild nicht überbelichtet wird. Durch diese kurze Belichtungszeit sieht man auf dem fertigen Bild des Wasserfalls dann jeden einzelnen Tropfen – als hätte man einfach nur die Zeit angehalten. Dadurch geht aber die Natürlichkeit des Motivs, seine Dynamik, völlig verloren. Benutzt man nun einen ND Filter (und erzwingt damit eine lange Belichtungszeit) ist der Unterschied dramatisch: der Wasserfall sieht „weich“ aus, einzelne Tropfen verschwimmen zu einem Nebel aus Wasser.

Auch für das Filmen von Videos sind ND Filter von Vorteil. Wenn man beispielsweise mit 60 FPS filmt und sich dann die einzelnen Frames des Videos betrachtet, sieht man, das sich bewegende Objekte gestochen scharf aussehen. Das entspricht aber nicht der Sehgewohnheit des menschlichen Auges. Dieses erwartet, das sich bewegende Objekte etwas „verwischen“. Und genau diese Bewegungsunschärfe lässt sich beim Filmen mit ND Filtern erzeugen. Das Video erhält so den Look eines Kinofilms – denn auch hier sieht man beim Betrachten von Einzelbildern, das bewegte Objekte unscharf erscheinen – je stärker, desto schneller die Bewegung des Objekts ist.

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Bewegungsunschärfe-Effekt mit ND Filter

 

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Links ohne, rechts mit ND Filter und Langzeitbelichtung

 

Polarisierte Filter


Polarisierte (auch kurz „pol“) Filter funktionieren, sofern sie über einen „ND“ Wert verfügen, genau so wie ND Filter – bieten aber noch einen zusätzlichen Vorteil: sie blockieren Lichtsrahlen, die aus einer bestimmten Richtung einfallen. Im Klartext: mit ihnen lassen sich Spiegelungen reduzieren oder sogar völlig eliminieren.

Wer schon einmal ein Schaufenster, die Oberfläche eines stillen Sees oder die Windschutzscheibe seines Autos fotografiert hat, kennt das Problem: oft spiegelt die Oberfläche so stark, das sich nicht mehr erkennen lässt, was dahinter (oder darunter) ist. Und diese Spiegelung lässt sich mit der Verwendung eines polarisierten Filters entfernen, was manchal fast schon wie Magie wirkt.

Spiegelungen werden durch Licht erzeugt, das von Oberflächen abprallt und aus verschiedenen Richtungen auf die Kamera trifft. Da das spiegelnde Licht aber aus verschiedenen Richtungen kommt und man immer nur Licht einer bestimmten Polarisation (also aus einer bestimmten Richtung) eliminieren kann, verfügen polarisierte Filter meist über einen drehbaren Aufsatz. Durch drehen dieses Aufsatzes kann man dann Licht aus einer bestimmten Richtung blockieren. In der Praxis: man dreht so lange am Aufsatz, bis die unerwünschte Spiegelung bestmöglich eliminiert wurde. Da man beim Osmo Pocket das Bild jederzeit über das Display bzw. die App kontrollieren kann, ist es hier gottseidank recht einfach, den richtigen Winkel zu finden.

Polarisierte Filter können beim Fotografieren, als auch beim Filmen genutzt werden und sind immer dann von Vorteil, wenn man auf magische Weise Spiegelungen verschwinden lassen möchte. Aber Pol-Filter bieten zusätzlich noch einen weiteren Vorteil: sie verstärken die Intensität von Farben. Sobald man Licht aus einer bestimmten Richtung eliminiert, verstärkt sich das diffuse Licht, das von einem Motiv auf die Kamera geworfen wird. Das Ergebnis: die Umgebungsfarben scheinen nun deutlich intensiver. Das Grün der Vegetation wirkt stärker, das Blau des Himmels tiefer und die Farbe von Blüten strahlt kräftiger.

freewell nd polarized pol filter set sunnylife osmo pocket review test sample comparison coupon banggood mike vom mars blog neutral density

Links ohne, rechts mit Pol-Filter

 

ND Filter und polarisierte Filter sind also ein fast unverzichtbares Hilfsmittel beim Fotografieren und Filmen und es lohnt sich auf jeden Fall, immer ein Set – oder zumindest die nötigsten Filter – dabei zu haben. Gerade beim Osmo Pocket ist die Handhabung im Alltag denkbar einfach, wie wir auf der nächsten Seite sehen werden.

Auf der nächsten Seite: das Sunnylife Filter Set für den Osmo Pocket.

DJI Osmo Pocket & Filter Set:
DJI Osmo Pocket mit 10% Rabatt - Code: DOP10
ND Filter Set für Osmo Pocket
Alle Artikel
Diese Kategorie

 
Redaktionswertung: 4.5 / 5




Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.